Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Using Xlib with Qt

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Using Xlib with Qt

    Hi all,

    I need to use Xlib function in Qt.

    Objective is to display a "Xwindow Screen" on top of a Qt Widget ( QDialog, QMain Window etc.,).

    With the created application, i get two independent windows one is Qt application window and other one is X Window. But i need X Window on top of Qt Application. How can i acheive this. Any Ideas!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Using Xlib with Qt

    What do you mean by "XWindow Screen"? Aren't you mixing two terms here?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Using Xlib with Qt

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    What do you mean by "XWindow Screen"? Aren't you mixing two terms here?
    Hi ,

    I meant, i had a X Window Dialog which is developed using Xlib codes, and i had my Qt Main Window or Dialog too.

    Now i need to show this X dialog on top of a Qt Widget. That's the Objective

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Using Xlib with Qt

    I think you need to get all the lowlevel X stuff required to open an XLib window from QX11Info. Then you should be able to open the dialog. If you need to handle any X events, you can do that by reimplementing QApplication::x11EventFilter(). But be aware this window will look very odd compared to other windows in your program.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Using Xlib with Qt

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    I think you need to get all the lowlevel X stuff required to open an XLib window from QX11Info. Then you should be able to open the dialog. If you need to handle any X events, you can do that by reimplementing QApplication::x11EventFilter(). But be aware this window will look very odd compared to other windows in your program.

    Hi wyosta,

    Thanks for your support, If i can put the code created ,will you able to give a idea on the subject discussed....

    I have already created an application with both the "xlib" part and Qt part, both are working fine as independent...Advice me

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Using Xlib with Qt

    I won't help you with such lowlevel things, sorry. I don't want to touch bare XLib unless I really have to. I suggest you avoid it as well.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


Similar Threads

  1. in Xlib, we have Window; in Qt, what we have ???
    By dzh1121 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th June 2010, 08:34
  2. QT 4.5 + .config problem with Basic XLib?
    By qoo in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th August 2009, 11:52
  3. xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".
    By kiransu123 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd August 2009, 14:43
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd December 2008, 11:58
  5. trying to call Xlib inside qt app
    By phixx in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th February 2008, 20:28

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.