Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to use QT 4.6.3 with GCC 4.5.0 under windows xp?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default How to use QT 4.6.3 with GCC 4.5.0 under windows xp?

    Greetings,
    I will be developing a UI layer with QT, but I have other code which I need to compile with GCC 4.5.0.
    How can I use QT with unmodified mingw (gcc 4.5.0, gdb) ?
    Can I use all tools and QT Creator with mingw?

    I need to unify a bunch of projects on the same compiler version, and I can't force QT's version of gcc to other software.

    Your help would be much appreciated. My dev environment is windows xp.

    Best Regards
    Seref

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: How to use QT 4.6.3 with GCC 4.5.0 under windows xp?

    Have you tried to build Qt with gcc 4.5? Qt supports gcc, as its sdk is delivered with gcc 4.4. Also I haven't tried it with 4.5 it should work.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to use QT 4.6.3 with GCC 4.5.0 under windows xp?

    Hi Lykurg,
    I wanted to know if it is possible to do it, before giving it a try. Now that you've given me hope, I'll give it a try, and post results.

    Kind regards
    Seref

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to use QT 4.6.3 with GCC 4.5.0 under windows xp?

    Hi,
    I've managed to compile using gcc 4.5.0, though I had to delete some temporary files during compilation and resume compilation afterwards.
    However, the qt directory now has an enormous size. For example in qt\bin qtgui4d.dll is almost 380 megabytes! Total qt directory size is 5.45 gigabytes.
    Is this normal? Have I done something wrong here? I've simply done configure (no arguments) and mingw32-make

    Best Regards
    Seref

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,368
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,017 Times in 4,793 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to use QT 4.6.3 with GCC 4.5.0 under windows xp?

    You've built Qt in debug mode If you only build the release version it will be much smaller.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to use QT 4.6.3 with GCC 4.5.0 under windows xp?

    Thanks wysota,
    I think the default for configure is both release and debug, since I have both xyz.dll and xyzd.dll . As long as my code works OK with the release versions, I don't mind having large dll's on the disk. Still, the numbers are scary would mingw32-make clean help after the compilation to remove any temporary stuff?

    Kind regards
    Seref

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,368
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,017 Times in 4,793 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to use QT 4.6.3 with GCC 4.5.0 under windows xp?

    Yes, make clean will remove all object files.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th September 2010, 14:22
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th July 2010, 06:25
  3. Deployment Procedure On Windows On Linux and Windows
    By Harshith J.V. in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th July 2009, 11:27
  4. Windows focus / Windows Shutdown Problems
    By December in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd October 2007, 14:10
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 25th February 2007, 00:23

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.