Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Installing QT Creator - debugger is missing!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Installing QT Creator - debugger is missing!

    Greetings

    I am new to QT as i am now on a project which should be multi-platform thus i was told to install QT creator for windows.

    I have downloaded and installed qt-sdk-win-opensource-2010.05.exe, installation with default options (all but "post mortem debugger" checkboxes enabled).

    When i try to debug my project it says that debugger is missing. Indeed i dont even have pythongdb folder in the place it is searching for it!

    When i was installing the option to install this GDB debugger was checked and was greyed out (impossible to uncheck!)

    I couldnt find any online help on the matter, it seems everybody is having their debugger just fine? But mine is missing and there is nowhere to download it from as well!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 31 Times in 25 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Installing QT Creator - debugger is missing!

    Hi,

    I'm not familiar with the MingW build, but you could try in the menu 'Tools' - 'Options' then the icon 'Qt4' under 'Qt Versions'. You should see your Qt version. If you select it, you can press the 'rebuild' button below.

    If the debugger helper is available, you should see a green check mark.

    Best regards,
    Marc

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Installing QT Creator - debugger is missing!

    When i do tools-options i see a list of icons with text caption onthe left vertically, each of them opens a corresponding panel on the right.
    There is no Qt Versions, only Qt4 or Version control.
    Under Qt4, there is a table of options, table has columns "Name, qmake location,Debugging helper"
    Table contains values

    Auto detected
    Qt in path <not found>
    Manual
    Qt for symbian devices c:\nokiaqtsdk\symbian\sdk\bin\qmake.exe
    Simulator Qt for VS 2005 c:\nokiaqtsdk\simulator\qt\msvc2005\bin\qmake.exe
    Simulator Qt for VS 2008 c:\nokiaqtsdk\simulator\qt\msvc2008\bin\qmake.exe
    Simulator Qt for MinGW 4.4 c:\nokiaqtsdk\simulator\qt\mingw\bin\qmake.exe
    4.7.0 c:\qt\2010.05\qt\bin\qmake.exe

    I see no "rebuild" option when i highlight anything
    And "debugger helper" column is blank for every entry

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Napoli, Italy
    Posts
    621
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Installing QT Creator - debugger is missing!

    I've the same problem.
    It's a bug?
    A camel can go 14 days without drink,
    I can't!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Installing QT Creator - debugger is missing!

    you know what, i think i nailed that.

    The path specified for the GDB is this:
    C:\Qt\qtcreator-2.0.1\pythongdb\gdb-i686-pc-mingw32.exe

    BUT the default path for Qt installation is this:
    C:\Qt\2010.05

    this is where it ended since i clicked all defaults!

    I changed the path to C:\Qt\2010.05\pythongdb\gdb-i686-pc-mingw32.exe
    ....Now i can run the debugger!

    ---

    But now i am having another problem...
    I have a console app that doesnt need the event chain. Thats why i'm doing all my work in main() like this:

    QCoreApplication a(argc, argv);
    <<work>>
    QTimer::singleShot(0, &a, SLOT(quit()));
    return a.exec();

    (some dude in some tutorials advised to still run the a.exec so it can cean up whatever it needs to)

    I've put a breakpoint inside the <<work>> part. I want to evaluate variables when breakpoint hits. Inside <<work>> i am printf'ing into the console.

    Now, i press Start Debugging button, i can see execution stack, hit breakpoints, step etc, but console window never shows! If i press the Run button, i will see the console and the output, but with Start Debugging, i never see it!

    What can i do to see the console?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd November 2011, 09:30
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th July 2010, 02:41
  3. Qt Creator QT Creator debugger gone bad on 4.6.2 Windows
    By jjmellon in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd July 2010, 00:10
  4. Matplotlib widget installing on Qt Creator
    By soulz9 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th April 2010, 07:57
  5. creator MSVC debugger problem
    By glenn in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th August 2009, 11:44

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.