Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to adjust Application geometry acording to device

  1. #1

    Default How to adjust Application geometry acording to device

    How to adjust Application geometry acording to device

    I have an app that works fine just in one device.
    When I change the device in emulator, the app size turns not suitable for that device.

    How can I get control over device resolution and application max size.

    Thanks for any advice
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    New Delhi, India
    Posts
    2,467
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 334 Times in 317 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: How to adjust Application geometry acording to device

    Use layouts properly and show your app in maximized or full screen state.

    If you want fixed size, you can always query the screen geometry and re-size your app window accordingly.

  3. #3

    Exclamation Re: How to adjust Application geometry acording to device

    Quote Originally Posted by aamer4yu View Post
    Use layouts properly and show your app in maximized or full screen state.

    If you want fixed size, you can always query the screen geometry and re-size your app window accordingly.
    where and how call such resize?

    I ve calling resize from main.cpp and from the class using a signal.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    12
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: How to adjust Application geometry acording to device

    i would also like to know how to achieve this. i have made layouts and items in my app window through drag/drop so their size is fixed. How i can resize each and every layout and item according to screen geometry. I have tried showmaximized() change the size of window but size of layouts item and widgets remains the same. suggest some example regarding this.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to adjust Application geometry acording to device

    Quote Originally Posted by hasnain View Post
    i have made layouts and items in my app window through drag/drop so their size is fixed.
    If you say such a thing then most likely you didn't put widgets in layouts. If you don't know how to do that, read the docs or search the forum, there are countless threads about this "problem".
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    10
    Qt products
    Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: How to adjust Application geometry acording to device

    The same problem with me...
    I used QWidget as main windows, and i put some QLabel on it. I set the window size using setGeomethry (0,0,360,640). When i do mainwindow.show(), or mainwindow.showMaximized(), or mainwindow.showFullScreen(), nothing happened.
    Does anyone got the same problem with me?
    thx

Similar Threads

  1. [Symbian] show device's menu within a fullscreen application
    By curreli in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th September 2010, 08:54
  2. installing application on greenphone device
    By prajna in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th April 2009, 10:30
  3. Manually adjust geometry in custom widget
    By Rooster in forum Newbie
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th June 2008, 03:44
  4. How to install qtopia application on device.
    By namita in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th May 2008, 08:21
  5. Execution of a qt application on an arm linux device...
    By mahe2310 in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th November 2006, 21:14

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.