Thread: Shortcut key events best practices

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Default Shortcut key events best practices

Hi all,

I'm completely new to Qt. I've been building small apps, trying to get familiar with how everything works, and I feel like some of the things I'm doing (or want to do) can surely be done better.

The question for this post concerns shortcut keys. I know that QShortcut can be used to attach shortcuts to the class that displays (for example) my window widget.

Qt Code:
    1. (void) new QShortcut(Qt::Key_Up, this, SLOT(on_movePositiveButton_pressed()));
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

And that works nicely. I can also use events, by defining an event filter and then using
    Qt Code:
    1. movePositiveButton->installEventFilter(this)
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    to make that filter operate on events that occur through that object. That works as expected.

However, there are a few problems with either approach.

1. The QShortcut approach doesn't let you assign an action for when you let go of a key. So if I want the Left arrow key to run the movePlayerLeft() function, I can't run the stopPlayerMotion() after the user has let go of the key. Right? Is there a good way to detect when a key has been let go using this method?

2. On the other hand, I like the QShortcut method because it seems to notice the key press event before it even gets to any given widget. For example, let's say you have several buttons on your interface. By default, the arrow keys are set to move from button to button. If you define a QShortcut for the Up arrow, the Up arrow will no longer select another button. Nice and clean.