Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Calling Multiple Exes at the same time

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Calling Multiple Exes at the same time

    I want to know how do i call multiple exes at the same time??

    Now let me elaborate the issue.

    In my application i am creating buttons dynamically from an XML file. Now the xml file also has a field called exename. Along with the button creation the exe associated with the button also has to be initiated. There can be a maximum of 5 buttons so that means 5 exes. I want to know how the exes can be exectuted?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Calling Multiple Exes at the same time

    Hi chandru@080,

    Doesn't the QProcess class help?

    Hope this helps,
    Wladek
    One second is long, everything longer than two seconds is definitely too long.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Calling Multiple Exes at the same time

    I was checking the QProcess::execute function.. it does not pop out the message and waits till the process is over. so i guess that cannot be used. Please correct me if i am wrong. here the issue is all the exes has to be initiated at the same time and the correct exe related to the button has to be displayed when the button is clicked.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Calling Multiple Exes at the same time

    Quote Originally Posted by chandru@080 View Post
    I was checking the QProcess::execute function.. it does not pop out the message
    What message?
    and waits till the process is over.
    Did you actually read any more of the documentation for QProcess beyond the first thing that looked vaguely related? Try QProcess::start() for example.
    so i guess that cannot be used. Please correct me if i am wrong.
    You didn't specify blocking or non-blocking in your original post so you received the generic QProcess response. You cannot use execute() if you don't want to block. However, there's more to QProcess than that single method.
    here the issue is all the exes has to be initiated at the same time and the correct exe related to the button has to be displayed when the button is clicked.
    Do you want to start the corresponding executable when the button is clicked (last part of that sentence), all at the same time after some unspecified event (first part of that sentence), or when the button is created (as in your first post)? Your post is confusing in this regard.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Calling Multiple Exes at the same time

    For the First Comment- its not the message.. its the exe.

    Fot the second Comment - i shall look into Start()

    For the third comment - I want to show the exe which is running in the background when the button is clicked.. the exe's has to start when the main window pop up. I hope its clear now.

    The button gets created when the main window pops up.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Calling Multiple Exes at the same time

    i could open all the exes.. but my next problem is i dont want to display that on the screen. it has to be hidden. only on button click the exe should be displayed.. how can i achieve this?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 68 Times in 66 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Calling Multiple Exes at the same time

    then connect button's "clicked()"-signal with a slot that executes the corresponding exe

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Calling Multiple Exes at the same time

    With no information on what the background processes are, what sort of UI they have, or what environment they are running in there is no answer to the question.

    The solution will be platform dependent because you want to hide/unhide the UI of other arbitrary processes.

Similar Threads

  1. Calling multiple UI's?
    By QtAlexander in forum Newbie
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10th December 2010, 22:46
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th December 2010, 16:49
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 4th June 2010, 09:43
  4. add multiple rows at a time in tablewidgets
    By rk0747 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th April 2010, 06:54
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st February 2008, 18:55

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.