Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: PATH Environment Variable

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    15
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default PATH Environment Variable

    I was writing some code in Qt Creator (on WinXP) last night, and I'm not sure what I've changed, but for some reason it started having problems compiling, saying things like:

    Qt Code:
    1. Could not find make command: mingw32-make.exe in the build environment
    2. Error while building project blockingfortuneclient (target: Desktop)
    3. When executing build step 'Make'
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    and in the options menu it says:

    Qt Code:
    1. Qt in PATH <not found>
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I don't have much experience with this, but from what I've figured out, I need to add the Qt directories to 'PATH' in the Windows XP System Properties -> Environmental Values tab, but I don't understand why.

    Even though the problem is basically solved, I still have a few questions about the whole 'PATH' thing.:
    • Why can't Qt (and other similar software development applications) locate it's own directory and compilation executables? Surely it knows where it is installed to, right?
    • Exactly which directories do I need to add? Can it just be the 'C:\Qt\2010.05\' directory, and then Qt can navigate to sub directories, or do I need to go all the way to the required executables (e.g. 'qmake.exe' being in the 'C:\Qt\2010.05\qt\bin\' folder)?
    • What is the difference between 'PATH' in the 'user variables' section, and 'Path' in the 'system variables' section?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: PATH Environment Variable

    Did you ever find an answer for this? I have the same problem, and the same questions.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: PATH Environment Variable

    Quote Originally Posted by dohzer View Post
    • Why can't Qt (and other similar software development applications) locate it's own directory and compilation executables? Surely it knows where it is installed to, right?
    • Exactly which directories do I need to add? Can it just be the 'C:\Qt\2010.05\' directory, and then Qt can navigate to sub directories, or do I need to go all the way to the required executables (e.g. 'qmake.exe' being in the 'C:\Qt\2010.05\qt\bin\' folder)?
    • What is the difference between 'PATH' in the 'user variables' section, and 'Path' in the 'system variables' section?
    1) You realize that you can have more than 1 instance of Qt libs residing on your machine, right? How would the environment know which to use? Ahh that's right - the environment variables. You can apply this broadly to other tools you might use for development.
    2) Sorry, I don't mess with mingw enough to answer that one.
    3) System variables are just that: system-wide. They are overridden by user variables (which are configured per user account).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    coimbatore,India
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 47 Times in 43 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: PATH Environment Variable

    hi dohzer,
    pls go through the Qt Creator manual.
    u can hav a better feel.

    Bala

Similar Threads

  1. Variable Path for QPixmap
    By moatilliatta in forum Newbie
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th September 2010, 05:18
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17th October 2009, 08:10
  3. System environment variable
    By fahlen in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th November 2007, 19:02
  4. Environment variable
    By Pragya in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th May 2007, 13:02
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd April 2007, 19:47

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.