Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is Qt for GUI only?

Thanks

Red face Is Qt for GUI only?

Hi guys,I am a new Qt user.I have some C++ experience and decided to start making GUI(after console app.)
    So,my question is:Is Qt only for GUI development,or it can be used to code the "engine"(functionality)of my program as well?

Thank you.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits

Default Re: Is Qt for GUI only?

It is not only for programming a GUI. QtCore, QtXml, QtSql etc. all doesn't belong to GUI. So Qt is also quite perfect to code an engine. Just go ahead an you'll see.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Lykurg View Post
    It is not only for programming a GUI. QtCore, QtXml, QtSql etc. all doesn't belong to GUI. So Qt is also quite perfect to code an engine. Just go ahead an you'll see.
    Aha..but can I also add code(for the engine)in my main.cpp file?
    And can you please recommend a good tutorial/book that expalines Qt well?

Thanks.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits

Quote Originally Posted by "BumbleBee" View Post
    Aha..but can I also add code(for the engine)in my main.cpp file?
    I am sorry, but I don't get you. What do you want to do?
    And can you please recommend a good tutorial/book that expalines Qt well?
    There are a lot of thread about that at the forum. But also my favorite one of Johan Thelin is mainly focused on GUI creation. So better say what kind of library you are planing and we probably point you to the important classes you will need to know. Also the documentation is good enough to learn.

Thanks

Well,when you are coding in a console app. you have the main function,where everything happens,I asked if the file main.cpp hold ass well the code for the engine(like commends besides the GUI..:/)