Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Debug libraries

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Debug libraries

    I am trying to debug a program which uses Qt 4.6.3 (x86_64) but gdb does not recognize any Qt symbols. I understand that some distributions contain only release libraries and my distriburion (SuSE 11.3) looks like being one of those.

    Can debug libraries be downloaded from somwhere or is the only way of getting them a compile from source.

    In both cases where should these libraries be installed and are any changes to mkspecs required?

    I found the web extremely quiet on this subject.

    Any help appreciated.
    Enno

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,716
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Debug libraries

    Just install the development packages for Qt4.(Look it up in the package manager)
    It will install the debug libs.
    You may want to install the source as well.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Debug libraries

    Sounds very logical. Refreshed package qt4-devel but still get
    Qt Code:
    1. warning: can't find linker symbol for virtual table for `Frame' value
    2. warning: RTTI symbol not found for class 'QImage'
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Looking at filelist libQtCore.so is installed in/usr/lib64 but as far as I can see that is the normal link to libQtCore.so.4.6.3 and not any debug library.

    Starts looking like a SuSE problem ??
    Enno

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,716
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Debug libraries

    Starts looking like a SuSE problem ??
    Definitively not.
    It has been some time since I have dealt with SUSE.
    Maybe the debug version is an extra package.

    If all fails, you can just recompile from source with the debug flag set.

    But I am sure some other users who use SUSE regularly will comment here too.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

Similar Threads

  1. Build Debug Libraries 4.4.3
    By LordQt in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd October 2008, 15:38
  2. Build the debug Libraries of QT4.4
    By SunnySan in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th July 2008, 10:39
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th March 2008, 14:26
  4. Libraries in debug mode ?
    By SteM in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th August 2007, 10:28
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd March 2006, 19:06

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.