Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Custom Widget

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    41
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Post Custom Widget

    Hi
    I have created the custom widget through the qt creator Template Like Create Custom widget . For just checking i have created a very simple cusom widget with doing nothing. Now i just need that custom widget to appear in qt designer form when i have compiled that custom widget .But it is not showing there. what would be the Problem i am using all the simple ssetting provided by the Qt Creator
    Hoping for a quick reply
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: Custom Widget

    You can either use "Promote to" or write a plugin with the custom widget for Qt Designer. There is an example in the docs on how to do that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    41
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Post Re: Custom Widget

    HI
    I have done all these i have read the sample example like analog Clock and all still i am not able to do this ,maybe i am missing very simple thing .Now i am writting the steps which i have followed
    1. I have created the Custom widget through Qt creator New File ->Other Project ->Qt Custom Designer Widget
    2 . I compile and Build the the Project
    3. when i search the lib an dll file in designer it is notshowing there
    becoz if it is innstalled hen it should come in the designer folder so what would be the Problem .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Custom Widget

    I posted something about this before...
    is this what you want:
    http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/3634...with-QtCreator

    If you are on windows and your designer is built using msvc compiler then your plugins need to be compiled with the same compiler and in the same mode (release most likely). Then you just need to place the dll in the bin/designer dir.

    As mentioned, there are example of how to do this. But just check for errors like I suggested in the other post and you should see what you are doing wrong
    Last edited by pan; 11th February 2011 at 08:33. Reason: updated contents

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    41
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Post Re: Custom Widget

    Thanks
    Hi BUt when i am creating the Custom widget and manually put the dll and lib file in designer and check the form options it is not showing the custom widget as loaded Plugin.So the Problem is that the custom widget is not created at that time or Proper plugin is not created .
    Hoping for more reply

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Custom Widget

    You should only need the dll.
    What directory (exactly) are you placing your plugin dll?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    41
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Custom Widget

    Thanks Pan ,
    Suppose i have created the custom widget through the qt creator . The created Custom widget is doing nothing so all the Project Setting is as default now i put the realease dll into the folder where the qt is installed like in my case it is "C:\Qt\2010.05\qt\plugins\designer".Now i am going to check whether the Custom widget has been created like plugin i create a form and check for form options so in this case it is showing nothing So can u tell whether i am doing right for creating the Custom widget

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Custom Widget

    Try placing it here:
    C:\Qt\2010.05\bin\designer

    See what you get then.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    41
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Custom Widget

    Very Very Thanks Pan
    In this time for It actually have come.However it shows as
    Failed Plugin
    (The Path of Plugin in this case C:\Qt\2010.05\bin\designer\pluinName)
    The Plugin (with full name ) use incomplete Qt Lib Expected Build Key 'Windows msvc release full config' got 'Windows mingw release full config'
    So what i have to do now

    Hope for ur quick reply

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Custom Widget

    Don't know what happened to my reply then... just disappeared.

    In short: You need to use the msvc compiler (Microsoft Visual C++). Search the forums for a "how to" I think there are lots.

    It is on the lines of downloading the correct Qt Library and the msvc compiler. Then setting it up in your options and telling your project to use that setup.

    It is simple once it is all in place.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    41
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Custom Widget

    Thanks
    Now i going to search that Part
    Thanks Once again

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Custom Widget

    Does it mean that when the SDK 2010.05 binaries are installed on windows, the QtCreator is a version which had been compiled with MSVC++ and consequently any plugin created with mingw32 does not load?

    What puzzles me is that the Nokia web site seems to imply that it is a mingw32 version because the fine print on the SDK Windows download states :
    "*Based on MinGW (download sources) tool set. Does not include VS compiler."


    Thanks

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    41
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Custom Widget

    Hi Pan

    If i am using visual studio 2008 and visual studio plugin then where i have to place my dll

Similar Threads

  1. Custom GL Widget
    By qtoptus in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th May 2010, 16:28
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th May 2010, 10:09
  3. Custom Widget
    By Frej in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 13th February 2010, 21:13
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th November 2006, 23:50
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 8th May 2006, 14:21

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.