Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: cannot find -lqwtd error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default cannot find -lqwtd error

    Hi

    After some searching and trial and error i managed to install QWT and get it running in QT creator (well i can see the widgets in the form window anyhow) I did it like this:

    1. installed the qt SDK 2010.05 from the qt.nokia website
    2. downloaded qwt-6.0.0-rc5.zip
    3. extracted the zip to C:\Qt\2010.05\qt\qwt-6.0.0-rc5
    4. using the QT command prompt i navigate to this folder and use:
    qmake.exe qwt.pro -spec win32-g++ -r CONFIG+=release
    mingw32-make release
    5. copy libqwt_designer_plugin.a and qwt_designer_plugin.dll
    from: C:\Qt\2010.05\qt\qwt-6.0.0-rc5\designer\plugins\designer
    to C:\Qt\2010.05\qt\plugins\designer
    6. copy libqwt.a and libqwtmathml.a
    from C:\Qt\2010.05\qt\qwt-6.0.0-rc5\lib
    to C:\Qt\2010.05\qt\lib
    7. copy qwtmathml.dll and qwt.dll
    from C:\Qt\2010.05\qt\qwt-6.0.0-rc5\lib
    to C:\Qt\2010.05\qt\bin
    8. Download qt-creator-2.0.1-src and put in C:
    9. From the QT creator command prompt
    qmake.exe C:\qt-creator-2.0.1-src\qtcreator.pro -spec win32-g++ -r CONFIG+=release
    mingw32-make release

    Ok so far so good but now when i load the sinusplot.pro project for example and try to run it all i get is

    cannot find -lqwtd
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

    Searching the forums i tried to add some library's to the .pro file and also set the environmental variable, see this thread:

    http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/3606...ghlight=-lqwtd

    But i still get the same problem.

    Can someone please help!

    Thanks

  2. The following user says thank you to mobucl for this useful post:

    orfner (7th April 2011)

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,311
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: cannot find -lqwtd error

    You have built a release version of Qwt only, but then you want to link against a debug version.

    Uwe

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: cannot find -lqwtd error

    Thanks Uwe,

    So do i need to use the debug version or can i use the release version for my code?

    How do i make the debug version?

    and

    How do i link to the release version?

    Sorry if these are simple questions but im still quite new to QT and C++,

    Many thanks

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: cannot find -lqwtd error

    Uwe I love you and I love a level of your knowledge, it is amazing, but never never I can understand what do you want to tell us. Please share with us your unlimited knowledge. Write something useful. Write to us step by step, how to install qwt in QT Creator. We know, that You can do that. We will be greatful.

    I have newest Qt Creator, QWT, Windows 7. I open with Qt Creator qwt.pro, change project location in .pri file. I get lib folder with .dll and .a and what should I do now

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: cannot find -lqwtd error

    Use this: http://johnhforrest.com/2010/09/inst...wt-on-windows/
    Use his qwtconfig.pri, only change destination
    Use Qt Creator -> run qmake, rebuild qwt.pro
    Use Qt Command from Start->All Programs menu, use qmake, mingw32-make

    Copy libqwtd.a "from C:\Qt\2010.05\qt\qwt-6.0.0-rc5\lib to C:\Qt\2010.05\qt\lib"

    all examples are working well but with a lot of errors during building project

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: cannot find -lqwtd error

    Now, it works correctly with standard files - you only change directory folder.
    I installed newest QtSDK, downloaded qwt 6.0.0, built qwt.pro (changed .pri directory) and it works

Similar Threads

  1. Qt Creator Qt Creator run error, cannot find -lpsapi.a
    By kyh23_y in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th September 2010, 22:46
  2. Qt Creator Qt Creator run error, cannot find -lpsapi.a
    By kyh23_y in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th September 2010, 16:52
  3. error: cannot find -lovlnxlib
    By Tondog in forum KDE Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th August 2009, 15:20
  4. Find one error
    By BadKnees in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th March 2009, 15:33
  5. The error: /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lphonon
    By learning_qt in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st October 2008, 22:12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.