Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Tabbed Notepad

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    2

    Default Tabbed Notepad

    Would it be possible to make a notepad with tabs?
    Just like notepad++
    And I want a button to create a new tab(one after another....)

    How can I do that?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    769
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 94 Times in 86 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Tabbed Notepad

    Given that something like this already exists (according to you, notepad++) then yes, it is possible to make such a thing.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Belarus
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Tabbed Notepad

    I think you should read QTabWidget and QTextEdit
    Try read Qt documentation before ask stupid question.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    21
    Qt products
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Tabbed Notepad

    Never waste time re-inventing the wheel unless you are trying to learn.

    Nobody likes starting with "Hello World"...

    But, if you don't take the time to learn the basics...

    It's like building a house on sand... No foundation...

    Sooner or later your code will collapse and you won't have a clue where to begin the debugging.

    Another thing, if you are new to programming, as it appears you are, don't try to sit down and just start coding your application.

    Sit down and dissect the problem, create an outline of what you are trying to do, then start filling in that outline with a rough idea of how you intend to "solve" each outline point.

    Many commercial software houses require this of their "paid" programmers.

    And, it greatly reduces the amount of rewrite, debugging and corrections you need to do.

    For you, once you get your outline, thoerize what "might" solve the steps, and do some research on possible "fixes".

    Look at the various windows in QT Creator and see what is available.

    In QT Designer (pyQT 4.8.5) the list is segregated into various groups by what functionality they perform.

    Then look at the Property Editor Page and see what "attributes" are available.

    You'd be surprised at how much information is in the one "little" application.

    Mike Sr.

Similar Threads

  1. Tabbed Dock Widget
    By bismitapadhy in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th May 2010, 04:38
  2. Enabling Virtual Keyboard with Notepad Appllication?
    By augusbas in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 7th August 2009, 07:18
  3. How can I know if a QDockWidget is tabbed?
    By ricardo in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th May 2009, 06:51
  4. NotePad and WordPad (why)
    By baray98 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th July 2008, 22:48
  5. QDockWidget Tabbed State
    By jtaylor108 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd August 2007, 00:16

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.