Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: QtWebKit: compiles/builds fine but I cannot execute (.dll missing)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    24
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default QtWebKit: compiles/builds fine but I cannot execute (.dll missing)

    Hi all,
    I am trying to transfer a full functioning project from linux to windows.
    I am very new to windows architecture.
    The project compiles and builds fine.
    Then when I try to execute I get some missing .dll files
    QtWebKit4.dll
    QtWebKitd4.dll
    QtNetwork.dll
    QtNetworkd.dll
    Qt4Core4.dll
    Qt4Cored4.dll
    QtGui4.dll
    QtGuid4.dll

    Obviously there is something I haven's configured well ((

    my .pro file is like this:

    Qt Code:
    1. TARGET = asta
    2. TEMPLATE = app
    3. TARGET = asta
    4. DEPENDPATH += .
    5. INCLUDEPATH += .
    6. QT += core gui
    7.  
    8.  
    9.  
    10. # Input
    11. SOURCES += \
    12. main.cpp \
    13. my2dPlot.cpp \
    14. testObject.cpp \
    15. menuBar.cpp \
    16. mainwindow.cpp \
    17. t4.cpp \
    18. qwt_double_rect.cpp \
    19. plotPicker.cpp \
    20. groupBox.cpp \
    21. myTable.cpp \
    22. myTableItem.cpp \
    23. myLineEdit.cpp \
    24. cell.cpp \
    25. parametermodel.cpp \
    26. comboboxDelegates.cpp \
    27. mysplash.cpp \
    28. internetbrowser.cpp \
    29. pictureflow.cpp \
    30. spinboxdelegates.cpp \
    31. configdialog.cpp \
    32. pages.cpp
    33.  
    34. HEADERS += \
    35. my2dPlot.h \
    36. testObject.h \
    37. menuBar.h \
    38. mainwindow.h \
    39. pixmaps.h \
    40. t4.h \
    41. qwt_double_rect.h \
    42. qwt_array.h \
    43. plotPicker.h \
    44. groupBox.h \
    45. myTable.h \
    46. myTableItem.h \
    47. MyLineEdit.h \
    48. cell.h \
    49. parametermodel.h \
    50. comboboxDelegates.h \
    51. mysplash.h \
    52. internetbrowser.h \
    53. pictureflow.h \
    54. spinboxdelegates.h \
    55. configdialog.h \
    56. pages.h
    57.  
    58. QT += webkit
    59. QT +=opengl
    60. QT +=network
    61. CONFIG +=qwt
    62.  
    63. CONFIG += debug_and_release
    64. CONFIG += build_all
    65.  
    66. INCLUDEPATH += C:\Qt\qwt-6.0.0-rc5\src
    67. LIBS += C:\Qt\qwt-6.0.0-rc5\lib\libqwt.a
    68. LIBS += C:\Qt\qwt-6.0.0-rc5\lib\libqwtd.a
    69.  
    70.  
    71. OTHER_FILES += iconDatabase.txt
    72.  
    73. FORMS += itemdl.ui \
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    even if I copy all these .dlls in the folder of the executable I get an error like

    Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime...
    "This application has requested the runtime to terminate it in an unusual way..."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,938
    Thanked 268 Times in 268 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    20

    Default Re: QtWebKit: compiles/builds fine but I cannot execute (.dll missing)

    Try using the depency walker (see MSDN), this program will tell you which dependencies are not available.

    Note that if you use a Qt plugin DLL like an image formate decoder than you must install that too in the correct place.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: QtWebKit: compiles/builds fine but I cannot execute (.dll missing)

    Hm... Does it really request the -d files (QtWebKitd4.dll, QtNetworkd.dll) if u created a release version, then u shouldn't need these (or am I missing something)?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    24
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QtWebKit: compiles/builds fine but I cannot execute (.dll missing)

    I compiled and executed successfully the same project by removing all QtWebKit-related classes.
    This means that probably I haven't set up well Qt or something.
    Any ideas?

    @Archa4 : I had just enabled the release and debug mode.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: QtWebKit: compiles/builds fine but I cannot execute (.dll missing)

    What Archa4 tried to say is that you won't need to deploy the d dll's (anyway the debug version of the VC++ run time is almost impossible to "install" (deploy) on a system without VS installed)

    Which Visual Studio version are you using? The Qt framework dll's need to be built with the same VS version as your application, so make sure you install the correct Qt built, and if you use VS 2010 you need to build Qt yourself else you might get run time errors.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    24
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QtWebKit: compiles/builds fine but I cannot execute (.dll missing)

    hi,
    I am using Qt 4.7.0 (32 bit) but I didn't use Visual Studio at all. I am actually a really newbie to windows architecture and libraries. I followed the instructions and installed Qt with MinGw. Then I tried to transfer my project from linux to windows. I had some troubles to install Qwt and Qxt but in the end I did it. Qt seemed to build, compile and execute flawlessly. Now some part of my project has QtWebKit. The classes and functions appear to work too, the project compiles fine, but when I try to execute the program I get errors having some .dll missing. Do I have to install VS to make QtWebKit work?

    About the d dll's you are absolutely right, they are not necessary for the release mode. However when I try to execute the release .exe I get something like:
    _ZN11WebElement12appendInsideERK7QString ,.... was not found in the QtWebKit4.dll
    Then I copy the QtWebKit4.dll in the folder and I get the similar error:
    _Z11qWinAppInstv.. was not found in QtCore4.dll
    Then I copy the QtCore4.dll in the release folder and I get:
    ??0QPointF@@QAE@NN@Z could not be found in QtCore4.dll

    My imagination stopped there because I could get through it.
    What is the diagnosis? Is it my Qt/windows installation? or should I do something else like adding a environmental variable, adding something to the .pro file, etc,etc?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,677
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,596 Times in 1,524 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: QtWebKit: compiles/builds fine but I cannot execute (.dll missing)

    Make sure you are copying the correct set of DLLs from your installation for deployment. If you are using the Qt SDK bundle then you want the files from:
    Qt Code:
    1. {SDKDIR}/qt/bin
    2. e.g.
    3. C:/Qt/2010.02.1/qt/bin
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    which have been built the bundled MingW compiler. The files from:
    Qt Code:
    1. {SDKDIR}/bin
    2. e.g.
    3. C:/Qt/2010.02.1/bin
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    were built with MSVC to provide the runtime for Qt Creator and you do not want these.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    24
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QtWebKit: compiles/builds fine but I cannot execute (.dll missing)

    well, indeed, these
    _ZN11WebElement12appendInsideERK7QString .dll errors,
    were because wrong path was set to the environmental variables. The right one is
    Qt Code:
    1. C:/Qt/2010.02.1/bin
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    I don't have any more dll missing messages, BUT,
    I get a general runtime error
    Qt Code:
    1. "This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way,bla,bla"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I copied all the dll it asked but stil does not work.

    phonon4.dll
    QtWebKit4.dll
    QtNetwork.dll
    Qt4Core4.dll
    QtGui4.dll


    The thing is that if I remove the QtWebKit and all its class/function instances from the program, the executables works as a charm,

    what is the problem?!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,677
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,596 Times in 1,524 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: QtWebKit: compiles/builds fine but I cannot execute (.dll missing)

    Did you read my last post?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    24
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: QtWebKit: compiles/builds fine but I cannot execute (.dll missing)

    it was a stupid typo of me!
    I meant to write that I set the path to:
    Qt Code:
    1. C:/Qt/2010.02.1/qt/bin
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    I copied these .dll files everywhere around the project but I get the error message of my previous post.
    It seems like the copied.dlls are correct but something crashes the execution of the program(runtime error).

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,677
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,596 Times in 1,524 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: QtWebKit: compiles/builds fine but I cannot execute (.dll missing)

    Whatever code you are removing to disable the program's use of WebKit obviously contains the problem then. Probably a NULL/dangling pointer or a reference to a variable that goes out of scope. If you cannot reproduce it in a debugger (you should be able to) then it is time to add bits of the functionality back in until the break reappears.

Similar Threads

  1. Qt 4.7.0 compiles all tools and examples, but they all crash on running
    By prophetofreason in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th October 2010, 17:32
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th October 2010, 13:16
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd July 2010, 16:46
  4. [SOLVED] 64 bit compiles under Visual Studio 2005
    By drescherjm in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th May 2009, 18:32

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.