Thread: QGLWidget & QGLContext & QThread

Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Default QGLWidget & QGLContext & QThread

Hi,

I have written a class MyGLWidget which is inherited from QGLWidget. It has all the mouse handling functions for rotating/zooming/panning.

I want to paint on this MyGLWidget from two different places in the program (by not using function pointers for paintGL function). I do not have idea that how can I use QGLContext and makeCurrent stuff?

Also, how can I create QGLContext with QThread if I want to use QThread for drawing from two different places? How can I share a QGLContext?

I studied the QThread and QGLWidget example on article http://doc.trolltech.com/qq/qq06-glimpsing.html and seems fine to me. But how can I share QGLContext from two different threads?

Can anybody please throw some light on this?
    Thank you.

--
    regards,
    eye51

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Default Re: QGLWidget & QGLContext & QThread

Hi!

I would recommend against sharing a glcontext between different threads! You can't really do anything in parallel. The context has to be blocked and released by each thread.

See: http://www.equalizergraphics.com/doc...OpenGLFAQ.html

Try to change your design in such a way, that your background-threads pre-calculate everything possible (e.g. textures etc) and make the actual calls to the glContext from just one thread.

You can use signals and slots to communicate between the worker objects of your threads.

Johannes

Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Hi Johannes,

Thank you very much for your ideas on my question.

I agree with you. As you said, one thread should pre-compile all the required drawings and another thread should draw those heavy GL drawings. The reason I was asking to share a glcontext was that my application may require huge visualization data to draw which may not be feasible on a single core master node.