Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Debug version of Qwt?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Debug version of Qwt?

    I have Ubuntu 10.10, and I downloaded the zip file of qwt-6.0.0 from sourceforge. When I open the .pro file in qtcreator 2.0.1 (that came with the qt sdk for 4.7.0), and build qwt, it creates .so files with no 'd' in them to denote debug. If I select the Debug or Release configuration in QtCreator, it still builds .so files with the same name, and I am unable to step into them when debugging my Qt app.

    I'm not used to building .so libraries, so I tried changing to .a libraries, in case that made a difference. I commenting out the line "QWT_CONFIG += QwtDll" in qwtconfig.pri, and sure enough, now .a files are built. However, still no debug version. I next tried modifying CONFIG in qwt.pro, in various ways, including but not limited to:
    1) CONFIG += debug
    2) CONFIG += debug_and_release
    3) CONFIG = debug
    4) CONFIG -= release
    CONFIG -= debug_and_release
    CONFIG += debug
    5) config += debug

    config -= release

    config -= debug_and_release

    CONFIG += debug

    CONFIG -= release

    CONFIG -= debug_and_release

    (Don't ask where lower-case "config" came from, found it online somewhere, tried it, it didn't work either).

    Anyone know how I can build Qwt for debug? I saw some comments online that said that Qwt's pro files may not put a 'd' in the debug library, so on many of my build attempts I didn't just look at the name, I also tried debugging it. But in all cases, I could not step into qwt functions with qtcreator, and when I set breakpoints in them they weren't just a red circle, they had a dab of purple on them (whatever that means).

    Also, I've been deleting the contents of the qwt/lib directory, and checking timestamps of the created files, so I am sure they're getting rebuilt.

    Thanks,
    Miles

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,325
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Debug version of Qwt?

    Appending a 'd' to a library is Windows crap - you don't have such a thing on Linux.

    So "CONFIG += debug" already did it. With the 'file' command you can check the library later to see how it had been built - the file name is unimportant.

    Also note that - in opposite to Windows - you can link debug and release libraries together. Of course you have symbolic information in these parts of your application only, that has been compiled in debug mode.

    Uwe

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th August 2009, 09:38
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th October 2008, 05:12
  3. Building debug version under VS2008
    By KenW in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd May 2008, 19:09
  4. problem with debug version compilation 4.3.1
    By bruce1007 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th November 2007, 21:21
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th November 2006, 10:38

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.