Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Maximum optmization to maximize speed in release

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    14
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Maximum optmization to maximize speed in release

    Hi
    I was testing flags for optmizing at the maximum for speed on gcc (in the Release config). I wanted to try -O3 rather than the default -O2 so I've added QMAKE_CXXFLAGS += O3
    But in the compiler output I see that after my CXXFLAGS with the -O3 it appears automatically -O2. As in the gcc docs I've seen that the last -O* is the effective one, I wonder where is that -O2 configured and if my -O3 is effectively taken into account.

    By the is that the best option to maximize for speed or ar there other recommended settings?. I've tried also -Ofast but get an error from the compiler, it was the first attempt though so I may have to insvestigate more.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Maximum optmization to maximize speed in release

    You can use also(if you use QStrings):
    Qt Code:
    1. DEFINES += QT_USE_FAST_CONCATENATION QT_USE_FAST_OPERATOR_PLUS
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    in your .pro file. But this may break your code.

    See also:
    http://www.slideshare.net/qtbynokia/...d-applications

  3. The following user says thank you to lukass for this useful post:

    thru (19th May 2011)

Similar Threads

  1. maximize grid with maximize window
    By bibhukalyana in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th May 2011, 08:16
  2. Maximum PNG dimensions?
    By blooglet in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th May 2011, 08:49
  3. Key sequence maximize program
    By bunjee in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th November 2009, 21:18
  4. Maximum Speed Needed
    By lixo1 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 22nd March 2009, 22:27
  5. Maximize Window Signal
    By ToddAtWSU in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 8th May 2006, 20:05

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.