Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Qt Integration with Visual C++ 2010 Express Edition, how do I do this correctly?

  1. #1

    Question Qt Integration with Visual C++ 2010 Express Edition, how do I do this correctly?

    I've been having some trouble getting Qt 4.7.3 (open source) set up with my Visual C++ 2010 Express Edition. I have quite a few reasons for using VC++ over MinGW or Qt Creator, mostly just because I want to keep my develpment environment consistent.

    I started out by using the online install for Qt 4.7.3 for Windows (using Windows 7). Here are the features I currently have installed:



    After I installed that, I went to C:\QtSDK\QtSources\4.7.3 via the command line and typed in "configure -platform win32-msvc2010". I set it to Open Source Edition and accepted the licence agreement, here's the output that it gave me:



    I can assume that a return code of -1 isn't good, not to mention the ".lib not found" error messages. One problem is I honestly have no clue what "qmake" and "nmake" are supposed to do or how they're supposed to affect my VC++ workflow. I really haven't gone very far beyond adding .libs and include files in terms of compiler settings, so I suppose I'm not surprised at how far I've gotten with this so far. I have quite a bit of experiance with software coding and C++'s syntax, but not as much experiance with implementing new development environments in this kind of depth.

    So what should I do now to get the most ideal Qt workflow with VC++? My main goal in terms of using Qt are to create a world editor and other game engine tools using OpenGL 3.x (and possibly OpenGL ES once I focus more on mobile development), as well as Win32 when needed. Help is appreciated!
    Last edited by AutoBot; 22nd June 2011 at 20:29.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Integration with Visual C++ 2010 Express Edition, how do I do this correctly?

    since you are building Qt from sources, you are going to need a 'make' utility. In your case, you want to use nmake.exe. I'm not sure if it comes with VC++, it might just be a matter of putting the folder where nmake is located in your path.

    It has been a while since I used VC++ , but I remember something about setting up variables and path for command line tools by running vcvars32.bat?
    Last edited by schnitzel; 22nd June 2011 at 21:33. Reason: updated contents

  3. #3

    Default Re: Qt Integration with Visual C++ 2010 Express Edition, how do I do this correctly?

    I'm using the Visual Studio command line now, which fixes my issue with finding nmake. Once I go to C:\QtSDK\QtSources\4.7.3, I run vcvars32 and configure -platform win32-msvc2010. Here's the output that really changed in terms of nmake execution:



    Now it doesn't seem to work cause all of the files are out of line. Don't know why this is. Any more advice?

    EDIT: I've installed a few more things in Qt:



    Still doesn't fix anything, though. Somebody please help me out with this, it's been on my mind for a while now. I have absolutely no clue why I'm getting all these "No such file or directory" errors.
    Last edited by AutoBot; 23rd June 2011 at 02:54.

Similar Threads

  1. Qt add in Visual Studio 2010 problem
    By qtmude in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th January 2012, 14:41
  2. Qt and Visual Studio 2010
    By SixDegrees in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th November 2010, 19:56
  3. Visual Studio Plugin (1.1.6) crashes Visual Studio (2010)
    By mboeni in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th October 2010, 16:46
  4. How to Qt4.7 Source with Visual Studio 2010
    By Aenima1981 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st October 2010, 14:00
  5. Plan for Visual Studio 2010 (MSVC 2010)?
    By Vinzz in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th April 2010, 17:42

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.