Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: build qwt qtlibinfix

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question build qwt qtlibinfix

    Hi,
    I have compiled my qt with -qtlibinfix XXX.

    How do i configure and build qwt for this?

    Thanks

  2. The following 2 users say thank you to gkarthick5 for this useful post:


  3. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: build qwt qtlibinfix

    The name of the qt libraries are added by qmake reading the files in $QTDIR/mkspecs.

    When you are using qmake and these files are correct for your installation, there should be nothing special to do when building Qwt.

    Uwe

  4. The following 2 users say thank you to Uwe for this useful post:


  5. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: build qwt qtlibinfix

    There's nothing in the corresponding mkspecs\(win32-msvc2005)\qmake.conf or qplatformdefs.h which says anything about the infix.
    Last edited by gkarthick5; 2nd August 2011 at 13:35. Reason: updated contents

  6. The following 2 users say thank you to gkarthick5 for this useful post:


  7. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: build qwt qtlibinfix

    Well then there is nothing to say or you have to add, what has to be said.

    Whatever needs to be done - it is part of your Qt installation and nothing, that should be done for every project that is using it.

    Uwe

  8. The following 2 users say thank you to Uwe for this useful post:


  9. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: build qwt qtlibinfix

    The problem is that when building qwt, it is building it as qwt.lib and qwtd.lib but looking for qwtXXX.lib and qwtXXXd.lib.

  10. The following 2 users say thank you to gkarthick5 for this useful post:


  11. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: build qwt qtlibinfix

    The magic behind library names is implemented in the functions qtLibraryTarget and qtAddLibrary, that are part of the feature files of your Qt installation.

    Uwe

  12. The following 3 users say thank you to Uwe for this useful post:

    gkarthick5 (3rd August 2011)

  13. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Default Re: build qwt qtlibinfix

    gkarthick5,

    I came across a similar problem myself, so I wonder if you found a solution for your problem?

  14. The following 2 users say thank you to Igor S.K. for this useful post:


  15. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: build qwt qtlibinfix

    I have a similar problem.

    In my platform qmake.conf there is QT_LIBINFIX set to 4.
    Building Qwt produced qwt.dll.
    But when I try to build my project it tries to link to qwt4.

    If I understand it correctly, the build system should have produced 'qwt4.dll', not 'qwt.dll'.

    I found that qwtAddLibrary function adds infix to the name, while the qwtLibraryTarget does not. How can this possibly work? Is this not an inconsistency?
    It is similar way in both customised qwt's qwtfunctions.pri and standard qt_functions.prf.

    I am not sure if this is a misconfiguration in Qt or Qwt so not sure where to look for a fix.

    I tried to comment out QT_LIBINFIX definition in qmake.conf but it affects all libraries and tries to link to 'QtCore' instead of 'QtCore4' for example.
    Meanwhile I modified qwtAddLibrary in qwt's qwtfunctions.pri to not to take infix into account. I realise this is not correct but at least I can now carry on working on a project.

    Any help or suggestion will be very much appreciated.

    I use Qt 4.8.5 and Qwt 6.1.0 with mingw-w64 cross compiler.
    Last edited by Stas1; 11th December 2013 at 20:56.

  16. The following 2 users say thank you to Stas1 for this useful post:


  17. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: build qwt qtlibinfix

    IIRC this has been fixed in SVN ( trunk and 6.1 branch ) some time ago.

    Uwe

  18. The following user says thank you to Uwe for this useful post:


  19. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: build qwt qtlibinfix

    Uwe, thank you. I found the fix in 6.1 branch in SVN. For anybody interested, here is the relevant commit: http://sourceforge.net/p/qwt/code/1771/

Similar Threads

  1. Failed to build Qt 4.7.1 in a shadow build with feature tuning
    By myfifth in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th February 2011, 04:25
  2. QTLIBINFIX and Qt4VSAddin
    By jobrandt in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th December 2010, 22:31
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th January 2010, 00:35
  4. Moving from QT 4.5 shared build to QT 4.5.2 static build
    By extrakun in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th October 2009, 10:49
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th December 2007, 12:02

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.