Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Make an application for windows running standalone

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    /home/hakermania/
    Posts
    233
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Question Make an application for windows running standalone

    Is it possible to include some ddl files inside the dir that my application is and so to allow it to run in every system?
    *I don't want to use static linking*
    In only use these libraries:
    Qt Code:
    1. #include <QDebug>
    2. #include <QFile>
    3. #include <QFileDialog>
    4. #include <QMessageBox>
    5. #include <QProcess>
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Thanks in advance for any answers and sorry if answer is obvious but I know far too few about windows, the app is for a friend running them
    When you 're trying to help somebody in the newbie section, don't forget that he is a newbie. Be specific and give examples.

  2. The following user says thank you to hakermania for this useful post:

    pkpyree (1st November 2011)

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: Make an application for windows running standalone

    It is all well documented in the documentation. Nothing more to say here. See http://doc.qt.nokia.com/latest/deployment-windows.html.

    And the general answer is yes and simple try it in a clean environment.

  4. The following 2 users say thank you to Lykurg for this useful post:

    hakermania (26th August 2011), pkpyree (1st November 2011)

  5. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    /home/hakermania/
    Posts
    233
    Thanks
    129
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Make an application for windows running standalone

    Qt Code:
    1. 'configure' is not recognized as an internal or external command
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    etc....should I download the Qt tarball (or anything similar for windows) and do these mentioned on the docs?
    I have downloaded the offline Qt Installation file and installed it.
    When you 're trying to help somebody in the newbie section, don't forget that he is a newbie. Be specific and give examples.

  6. The following user says thank you to hakermania for this useful post:

    pkpyree (1st November 2011)

  7. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 31 Times in 25 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Make an application for windows running standalone

    Your friend doesn't have to run configure

    Just take your executable, for instance hakermania.exe. Take QtCore4.dll and QtGui4.dll from your Qt bin directory. There may also be a 'manifest file' in the directory where Qt builds your hakermania.exe.

    Copy those 4 files to the system of your friend (just in any folder that you create) and it may run.
    You may also get an error that a certain dll is missing, and then you can add it.
    Depending on your compiler, you may also need some compiler specific files.

    More details are in the link that Lykurg provided. More specifically : http://doc.qt.nokia.com/...additional-libraries

    Your friend does NOT need to install Qt or MingW. Maybe some Microsoft runtime files if you are using Visual studio (but I don't think you do).

    Regards,
    Marc

  8. The following user says thank you to marcvanriet for this useful post:

    pkpyree (1st November 2011)

  9. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Make an application for windows running standalone

    i have tried copying these files. But it still says "This application has failed to start because QtCore4.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem." please help

  10. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Make an application for windows running standalone

    Hello,
    This video tutorial would help you:
    http://www.voidrealms.com/viewtutorial.aspx?id=211

    good luck!
    Unix is simple. It just takes a genius to understand its simplicity. – Dennis Ritchie

  11. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Make an application for windows running standalone

    Many Thank saeedIRHA! But it has still not solved my problem completely, but i believe i have been given the proper direction because of ur msg.
    will keep u posted though. regards, pyree

  12. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    17
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Make an application for windows running standalone

    Hello.

    Because this thread is about how to deploy app... I'll not create another one and I'll ask in this one once again about a very strange behavior(IMO).
    In my app I have a QGraphicsView with a scene and some other widgets on a main form. I'm trying to draw the background image to the scene. Image is somewhere on an user desktop. I press the button "Browse" for searching that image and after selecting that image the picture appears in a QGraphicsView's scene as I need it. BUT it will happen ONLY on PC where is installed QT. Otherwise will be displayed an empty screen. Image format is JPG/PNG/BMP. Further - more interesting. If I'll use libraries from win 7 pc and the target pc is working under win XP and on win XP pc is installed QT image will not appear neither.


    My question is: IS it a QT's bug? Or may be something missing in a libraries? Why app works(by this word I mean, that the picture is being drawing as a background) on win 7 pc where QT is installed and didn't work(picture doesn't appear) if QT isn't installed?

    I hope, I describe the problem clearly.

    Thank you for your answers beforehand.

  13. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Make an application for windows running standalone

    You need to deploy the relevant image format plugins in addition to the core Qt DLLs. See an example deployment layout

  14. The following user says thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:

    DmitryNik (4th November 2011)

  15. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    17
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Make an application for windows running standalone

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisW67 View Post
    You need to deploy the relevant image format plugins in addition to the core Qt DLLs. See an example deployment layout
    Thank you for the link.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th July 2011, 19:02
  2. Qt standalone application with Cocoa Library Crash
    By rokkamraja in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th June 2010, 14:21
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th November 2009, 09:27
  4. How to make MAC version of Windows QT application
    By qtUser500 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th October 2009, 14:27
  5. Error running 'make'
    By borker in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st May 2008, 14:54

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.