Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Linking GLUT with QT

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4

    Default Linking GLUT with QT

    Hi all,

    I am trying to link GLUT with QT. I have seen some other threads, and I have questions about where to put the glut files. According to this guide about using GLUT with MinGW, where should I put the files? I am using QT 4.7.4., and my initial guess is that:

    glut.h should go to C:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\include\GL (?)
    glut32.lib should go to C:\QtSDK\Desktop\Qt\4.7.4\mingw\lib\ (?)
    It says that glut32.dll should be located in the same directory where the project's executable will be created, and I have no idea where should that be.

    Also I guess I should add the following line in the .pro file.
    Qt Code:
    1. LIBS+=-lglut32
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Linking GLUT with QT

    You can place the files anywhere you want as long as you use INCLUDEPATH and LIBS QMake directives to point the locations to the compiler. This doesn't apply to the dll file which must be located where the runtime linker can find it (which for Windows is 1) the application binary directory, 2) %WINDIR%\System32, 3) %PATH% ).

    http://www.google.com/search?q=placi...les+on+windows
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


Similar Threads

  1. QT minimal Glut code - no library linking required
    By rucs_hack in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd October 2013, 08:30
  2. Qi with glut
    By hudi in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14th April 2010, 11:41
  3. How to link GLUT to Qt Project?
    By Lawand in forum Newbie
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th March 2010, 20:29
  4. using GLUT along with qtcreator/mingw in windows
    By stephanepoirier in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd March 2009, 05:26
  5. linking
    By mickey in forum Newbie
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd April 2006, 21:37

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.