Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Calibrate a MouseMan touchscreen on Qt4 Embedded

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Calibrate a MouseMan touchscreen on Qt4 Embedded

    Hi, I'm working with Qt 4.8.0, on a BeagleBoard with Angstrom, with a fullscreen framebuffer app.

    I'm using a Zytronic BTC_ZXY100-U-OFF-32-A USB touch panel, which doesn't have official drivers for Linux/ARM, but is recognized as a HID device

    Qt Code:
    1. [ 1540.102661] usb 1-2.7: new full speed USB device number 12 using ehci-omap
    2. [ 1540.231018] usb 1-2.7: New USB device found, idVendor=14c8, idProduct=0005
    3. [ 1540.242492] usb 1-2.7: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
    4. [ 1540.253906] usb 1-2.7: Product: Zytronic Touchscreen Controller
    5. [ 1540.265319] usb 1-2.7: Manufacturer: Zytronic Displays Limited
    6. [ 1540.298248] input: Zytronic Displays Limited Zytronic Touchscreen Controller as /devices/platform/usbhs-omap.0/ehci-omap.0/usb1/1-2/1-2.7/1-2.7:1.0/input/input9
    7. [ 1540.322875] generic-usb 0003:14C8:0005.0008: input: USB HID v1.01 Mouse [Zytronic Displays Limited Zytronic Touchscreen Controller] on usb-ehci-omap.0-2.7/input0
    8.  
    9. root@beagleboard:~# ls -l /dev/input/by-id
    10. ...
    11. lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 9 Nov 19 11:30 usb-Zytronic_Displays_Limited_Zytronic_Touchscreen_Controller-event-mouse -> ../event6
    12. lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 9 Nov 19 11:30 usb-Zytronic_Displays_Limited_Zytronic_Touchscreen_Controller-mouse -> ../mouse2
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    When I launch my Qt application, both my touchscreen and my USB mouse work, but the touchscreen is badly miscalibrated. Trying different QWS_MOUSE_PROTO drivers, MouseMan seems the only protocol that works. Does anyone know how to calibrate a MouseMan touchscreen?

    I tried to use ts_calibrate, but it says it doesn't understand the APP, and exits right away
    Qt Code:
    1. root@beagleboard:~# export TSLIB_TSDEVICE=/dev/input/mouse2
    2. root@beagleboard:~# ts_calibrate
    3. xres = 1280, yres = 800
    4. selected device is not a touchscreen I understand
    5. Took 2 samples...
    6. Top left : X = -546217868 Y = -546217749
    7. Took 2 samples...
    8. Top right : X = -546217868 Y = -546217749
    9. Took 2 samples...
    10. Bot right : X = -546217868 Y = -546217749
    11. Took 2 samples...
    12. Bot left : X = -546217868 Y = -546217749
    13. Took 2 samples...
    14. Center : X = -546217868 Y = -546217749
    15. -2.632812 -5.445312 5.429688
    16. -1.445312 -3.398438 3.390625
    17. Calibration constants: -172544 -356864 355840 -94720 -222720 222208 65536
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Regarding those "Took 2 samples...", I don't know what samples it's talking about, I can't even touch the screen at all before the program quits.

    I tried ts_calibrate because it's the only calibration utility I know for the framebuffer, but tslib doesn't seem to have future for me, because running the application with QWS_MOUSE_PROTO=tslib:/dev/input/mouse2 doesn't recognice any touch at all, while with MouseMan at least it recognizes touch, although it's miscalibrated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Calibrate a MouseMan touchscreen on Qt4 Embedded

    I'm following the MouseMan route, because the touchscreen is perfectly recognized, but I just can't seem to be able to calibrate it.

    I don't know of any utility to calibrate an HID touchscreen, so I followed this example: http://developer.qt.nokia.com/doc/qt...libration.html

    Does anybody know if there's anything I need to implement in that example to actually make it work? Because it consistently fails to calibrate my touchscreen. I've tried both running the example binary, and integrating the calibration procedure in my program.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Calibrate a MouseMan touchscreen on Qt4 Embedded

    hey RazZziel,

    sorry i have currently no answer for you but i have the same product by the usb idvendor/idproduct.
    but actually i got no idea which driver i should use for it
    Quote Originally Posted by RazZziel View Post
    Qt Code:
    1. [ 1540.298248] input: Zytronic Displays Limited Zytronic Touchscreen Controller as /devices/platform/usbhs-omap.0/ehci-omap.0/usb1/1-2/1-2.7/1-2.7:1.0/input/input9
    2. [ 1540.322875] generic-usb 0003:14C8:0005.0008: input: USB HID v1.01 Mouse [Zytronic Displays Limited Zytronic Touchscreen Controller] on usb-ehci-omap.0-2.7/input0
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    i dont get these lines, except these which i didnt quote. you know which kernel module is responsible for that ? a grep on idvendor/idproduct on the linux kernel source did nothing for me (except the 0003 product from zytronic in usbtouchscreen.c).
    or do you use the drivers from touch-base.com (updd)? how did you get those working on arm ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Calibrate a MouseMan touchscreen on Qt4 Embedded

    Quote Originally Posted by schelem View Post
    hey RazZziel,
    i dont get these lines, except these which i didnt quote. you know which kernel module is responsible for that ? a grep on idvendor/idproduct on the linux kernel source did nothing for me (except the 0003 product from zytronic in usbtouchscreen.c).
    No idea, but it must be inside my kernel, because today I realized I'm loading a 3.0 uImage in an Angstrom with a 2.6 kernel installed, so modules are not loading. Tomorrow I'll fix it and try to figure it out.

    Quote Originally Posted by schelem View Post
    or do you use the drivers from touch-base.com (updd)? how did you get those working on arm ?
    They currently don't provide ARM drivers. They will launch a binary for ARM in a few weeks, but only for X11. If I want to compile the driver myself, I must pay 5.000 GBP for the source code :\

    I'm still trying to get the qt calibration example working, but no luck so far, looks like qt is ignoring any attempt at calibration

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Calibrate a MouseMan touchscreen on Qt4 Embedded

    Finally I went X11, where I can calibrate my screen with either xinput_calibrate, or with this driver: http://www.mega-nerd.com/Zytouch/

Similar Threads

  1. How to configure / calibrate LinuxTP for touch panel?
    By oqtdev in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th February 2012, 16:44
  2. Arm7-based embedded doesn't refresh 7" touchscreen
    By psantofe in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th April 2011, 12:57
  3. How to Calibrate Touchscreen
    By yagabey in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th March 2010, 13:07
  4. Problem with QT embedded and touchscreen calibration.
    By webquinty in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd July 2008, 11:33
  5. calibrate function
    By sar_van81 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd February 2007, 07:51

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.