Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Default Basic questions to debugging

Hi!

First of all my background: I am a biologist interested in programming, not a programmer. Nonetheless I worked my way into C++ and Qt in order to write a programm which plots A/D converter data, sets triggers etc. for a scientific application. After installing Qt and Qwt, which was very laborious for me, I managed to produce a programm which works suprisingly well. But when having a closer look at the log-file where adc data is exported to, I realised a sample interval of >= 4 ms, which is not enough for our applications (at least 0.1 ms should be reached). So now my idea was to perform a profiling in order to find the bottleneck in my code - and this is where the actual problem starts!

I quickly stumbled over a profiler called callgrind (or valgrind) which would do the job for me - but it seems to be only for linux. I couldn't find any other freeware which seems to work well with Qt. When I tried "verysleepy", I couldn't find my functions in the statistics. Anyway, more and more I realized that I have to build a debug version of my code in order to use any profiling software(!?). But I'm not sure if this is possible with my installation of Qt/Qwt. I was just happy when I got it running, but didn't spend any attention on how I build Qt/Qwt or what this means for debugging, respectively. To give you an idea of how I installed Qt/Qwt, please have a look at this protocoll, which I luckily wrote in order to reproduce installation:

• Download qt-sdk-win-opensource-2010.05.exe from http://qt.nokia.com/downloads/sdk-windows-cpp
    • This contains mingw, the Qt libraries version 4.7.0 and Qt Creator IDE version 2.0.1
    • Install this C:\Qt\2010.05\
    • Download qt-creator-2.0.1-src.zip
    • Unpack this to C:\qt-creator-2.0.1-src\