Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Installation problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Installation problems

    I just installed QT hoping to have a go at developing a plugin for LMMS, but I'm working windows 7 platform. I tried to build the project but it immediately gives me following errors and I suspect I haven't set it up properly. I'm hoping experienced users will immediately recognize what is missing. So far I've set up environment variables QMAKESPEC, QTDIR and added two directories to the PATH but now IDK what to do

    PROCESSOR: x86
    -- Target host is 32 bit
    CMake Error at C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake
    2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:97
    (MESSAGE):
    Could NOT find Qt4 (missing: QT_QMAKE_EXECUTABLE QT_MOC_EXECUTABLE
    QT_RCC_EXECUTABLE QT_UIC_EXECUTABLE QT_INCLUDE_DIR QT_LIBRARY_DIR
    QT_QTCORE_LIBRARY) (Required is at least version
    "4.6.0;COMPONENTS;QtCore;QtGui;QtXml;QtNetwork ")
    Call Stack (most recent call first):
    C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake
    2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:288
    (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
    C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake
    2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindQt4.cmake:1172
    (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
    CMakeLists.txt:111 (FIND_PACKAGE)


    -- Could NOT find PkgConfig (missing: PKG_CONFIG_EXECUTABLE)
    -- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,734
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Installation problems

    CMake needs to be able to find and run qmake to determine the location of the Qt installation.

    If you have used the Qt SDK to get QT onto your machine then you should start the Qt command shell from the Windows Start menu and run cmake from there.

    If you have installed Qt by building from source then the directory containing qmake.exe should be in your PATH so that cmake can find it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Installation problems

    Thanks

    I was running it from the QtCreator gui that came with QtSDK.
    Now I tried it from the command line but that fails too:

    C:\Users\CJS\Desktop\lmmsBuild\lmms>cmake CmakeLists.txt
    -- Building for: Visual Studio 10
    -- Check for working C compiler using: Visual Studio 10
    -- Check for working C compiler using: Visual Studio 10 -- works
    -- Detecting C compiler ABI info
    -- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
    -- Check for working CXX compiler using: Visual Studio 10
    -- Check for working CXX compiler using: Visual Studio 10 -- works
    -- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
    -- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
    -- Could NOT find PkgConfig (missing: PKG_CONFIG_EXECUTABLE)
    PROCESSOR: x86
    -- Target host is 32 bit
    -- Looking for include file stdint.h
    -- Looking for include file stdint.h - found
    -- Looking for include file stdbool.h
    -- Looking for include file stdbool.h - not found.
    -- Looking for include file stdlib.h
    -- Looking for include file stdlib.h - found

    ... and many more... but I assume that's because it can't find PkgConfig. I did a global search for PkgConfig and found 3 folders and a .pm file of that name but I don't know what to do about it
    Last edited by Perduta; 21st April 2012 at 00:30.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Installation problems

    In case anyone else has this. I had to add Symbian\tools...\bin to the path:
    -- Found PkgConfig: C:/QtSDK/Symbian/tools/sbs/win32/cygwin/bin/pkg-config.exe (
    found version "0.23")

    So next to find the missing header files:

    PROCESSOR: x86
    -- Target host is 32 bit
    -- Looking for include file stdint.h
    -- Looking for include file stdint.h - found
    -- Looking for include file stdbool.h
    -- Looking for include file stdbool.h - not found.
    -- Looking for include file stdlib.h
    -- Looking for include file stdlib.h - found
    -- Looking for include file pthread.h
    -- Looking for include file pthread.h - not found.
    etc...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Installation problems

    the QtSDK installed 8 copies of stdint.h in different folders and that one is being found, while it installed 10 copies of stdbool.h which is not found... so I'm a bit confused what determines where it's looking... does anyone here know?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,734
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Installation problems

    pkg-config is a typical UNIX/Linux utility and would not normally be expected on a Windows machine. It's absence is a warning not a fatal error and neither, I suspect, are the other missing files.

    The stdbool.h that should be found is the one that ships with your C99 compliant C compiler.
    Visual Studio's compiler is not one of these AFAIK: see http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8...l-h-in-vs-2010. GCC (as found in MingW) ships one. The header is not part of the C++ standard. Unless your code uses it, its absence is not a problem.

    Win32 does not, and is unlikely to ever, support pthreads natively: hence the absent header.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Installation problems

    Thanks for that information
    I installed Qt to work on Linux Multi-Media studio. http://lmms.sourceforge.net/wiki/ind...MMS_on_Windows says it can be built in Windows and it uses MinGW which I have installed but I don't know how to configure it so that Qt knows where to look for the header files and libraries. There is a shell script that came with lmms but that doesn't work from the Qt Desktop command shell.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd November 2010, 21:17
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd July 2010, 14:53
  3. Installation problem : Qt4.6.1 problems when using nmake
    By euro_geek in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th June 2010, 22:03
  4. MacOSX PyQt4 installation problems
    By wraithdragon in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th November 2009, 03:36
  5. Qt 4.5 Installation problems
    By FatTail in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12th March 2009, 02:33

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.