Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Qt Creator on MacBook Pro Retina

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Qt Creator on MacBook Pro Retina

    I just picked up a new MacBook Pro with Retina and after installing Qt Creator (2.5.0) I was very disappointed to see that the editor window is most definitely not optimized for the retina display (i.e., all the text is blurry). I'm not too concerned about the rest of the UI elements, but I'm wondering if anyone has found a way to force the application into retina mode to get the editor window to display at the ideal resolution.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,355
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,009 Times in 4,788 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Blog Entries
    4
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt Creator on MacBook Pro Retina

    Can't you just change the font?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt Creator on MacBook Pro Retina

    Okay, so after digging around the good ol' internet for awhile, I stubbled upon http://comments.gmane.org/gmane.comp.lib.qt.devel/4477 which basically says that by adding
    Qt Code:
    1. <key>NSPrincipalClass</key>
    2. <string>NSApplication</string>
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    to the Info.plist of the app bundle (as indicated by http://developer.apple.com/library/m...012302-CH4-SW7) the native Cocoa automatic scaling would take effect. Of course, I gave that a try with no luck; it wasn't until I stumbled upon http://blog.boastr.net/?p=2839 which gives the key:
    Because Mac OS seems to cache the info.plists you may have to logout and login again, or alternatively copy the app bundle and insert it again at the same location. Then delete the old app bundle.
    After a quick copy/overwrite of the Qt Creator app bundle (logging out didn't seem to work for me) with the NSPrincipalClass key added to Info.plist, everything worked perfectly (with the exception of the icons, of course). Unfortunately, once I built my application I realized the same problem is present with any app bundle build with qmake. I was able to fix the issue with my app using the same trick, but it would be nice if qmake could add the proper key automatically during the build process...any ideas?


    Added after 14 minutes:


    The internet prevails again, a quick Google search turned up http://qt-project.org/forums/viewthread/6314, http://qt-project.org/faq/answer/how...ion_with_qmake, and http://lists.trolltech.com/qt-intere...ad00370-0.html, all of which give some clues as to how to address the issue. Obviously the next step is to get the entire application retina-aware (i.e., HiDPI aware) but I think my immediate concerns have been addressed. I hope this helps someone else who might be having the same problem.
    Last edited by Sanuden; 23rd July 2012 at 01:25.

Similar Threads

  1. Compile apps on my MacBook Air using Qt
    By neoclaw in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th April 2011, 21:55
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th May 2010, 15:45
  3. Listing files by filter on Macbook
    By dwarnold45 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th March 2010, 05:01

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.