Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Remove a QLayout from QGridLayout

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Remove a QLayout from QGridLayout

    QLayout::addChildLayout: layout "" already has a parent
    Sounds like you are missing the
    Qt Code:
    1. itemList[itemID]->setParent(0);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    which you had earlier..?

    Could you describe the GUI you are building? Maybe there's another way for constructing something similar?
    J-P Nurmi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Remove a QLayout from QGridLayout

    Quote Originally Posted by jpn View Post
    Sounds like you are missing the
    Qt Code:
    1. itemList[itemID]->setParent(0);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    which you had earlier..?

    Could you describe the GUI you are building? Maybe there's another way for constructing something similar?

    I tried this too. But got a

    X Error: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter) 3
    Major opcode: 25 (X_SendEvent)
    Resource id: 0x20000ad
    Well, I have three frames, which have Items. These items are a QHBoxLayout which has 2 QLabels and a QSpinBox. The user should be able to drag these items between the three frames.

    At first I tried the QItemView approach, but I wasn't able to do it the way I wanted.

    I know my new approach using Layouts isn't the right one, but it is much simplier for me. Just the thing of removing does not work yet.

    Thanks for your help

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Remove a QLayout from QGridLayout

    Yeah, the suggestion would have been using item views..
    J-P Nurmi

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Remove a QLayout from QGridLayout

    I never thought this reuse of Layouts would be a problem

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Remove a QLayout from QGridLayout

    I don't get it:

    Qt Code:
    1. leftBox->addLayout(protoItem2);
    2. leftBox->removeItem(protoItem2);
    3. protoItem2=0;
    4. delete protoItem2;
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Why is there still the layout in the leftBox??? Even more weird is that the added layout had two QLabels, but only one is still visible (the one with a QPixmap). leftBox->update() changes nothing.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Remove a QLayout from QGridLayout

    Qt Code:
    1. leftBox->addLayout(protoItem2);
    2. leftBox->removeItem(protoItem2);
    3. protoItem2=0;
    4. delete protoItem2; // <--- same as "delete 0;"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Qt Code:
    1. leftBox->addLayout(protoItem2);
    2. leftBox->removeItem(protoItem2);
    3. delete protoItem2; // delete first
    4. protoItem2=0; // then set the pointer to 0
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    J-P Nurmi

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Remove a QLayout from QGridLayout

    ok, that's of course true, but unfortunatly that does not change something.

    I did following: The Items I add to the QGridLayout are from a class derived from QHBoxLayout. I added two QLabels to this class and added them in the Constructor to the QHBoxLayout. I actually though by deleting the object of the class the two QLabels would be deleted too. But apparently that's not the case. Having added this in the destructor

    Qt Code:
    1. ~Item(){delete myName; delete myIcon;}
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    it works.

    Seems very dirty for me

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Remove a QLayout from QGridLayout

    Those widgets are not children of the layout. Widgets added to a layout become children of the widget where the layout is installed on. This is why the widgets didn't get deleted still if the layout was deleted.
    J-P Nurmi

  9. The following user says thank you to jpn for this useful post:

    grosem (1st January 2007)

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Remove a QLayout from QGridLayout

    Quote Originally Posted by jpn View Post
    Those widgets are not children of the layout. Widgets added to a layout become children of the widget where the layout is installed on. This is why the widgets didn't get deleted still if the layout was deleted.
    Aaah... I was not aware of this. Thank you

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Remove a QLayout from QGridLayout

    Ok, now the removing of QLayouts works. Unfortunatly I can't add new QLayouts to the QGridLayout at runtime. If I want to add them in the constructor of my QMainWindow it's no problem. But adding them later does not work properly. So the QGridLayout receives the new Layout but does not display it.
    I read the Qt-list archive, where someone suggested to call activate on the QGridLayout, but this does not work - not a surprise as this suggestion is from 1998...

    Any ideas?

    EDIT: update() does not change anything
    Last edited by grosem; 2nd January 2007 at 09:15.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Remove a QLayout from QGridLayout

    It should work. Did you, by any chance, forget to show() the widgets added at runtime?
    J-P Nurmi

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    8
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Remove a QLayout from QGridLayout

    Quote Originally Posted by jpn View Post
    It should work. Did you, by any chance, forget to show() the widgets added at runtime?
    I do the same as I did in the constructor of QMainWindow (where the Items are shown). If I did not have to call show() there explicitly I don't have to do it somewhere else, have I?

    The Items I add are looking like that


    QHBoxLayout->QFrame->QLabel and QLabel;

    If I call show on QFrame it opens seperatly new windows. show() at the QLabels has no effect.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th February 2014, 12:46
  2. QRegExp Help; remove all html tag
    By patrik08 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27th July 2006, 13:40
  3. QGridLayout
    By ToddAtWSU in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29th June 2006, 20:34
  4. QPixmap and QGridLayout
    By Talon_Karrde in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd February 2006, 12:27
  5. QSettings again ... how to remove array elements
    By Mike in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th January 2006, 08:58

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.