Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Deploying a Qt application

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Deploying a Qt application

    Quote Originally Posted by seub View Post
    So, this is where I'm at now, please correct me if needed:
    -For Linux users, I should probably compile my program using static linking (?)
    Problem1: see afer.
    Q1: I guess I want to compile two versions, 32 and 64 bits? How well are they going to work on different distributions?
    Q2: Sould I make a deb file or something?
    No, I'd use shared Qt and either ship the libraries with your binary or rely on the end-user to install Qt libraries. The deployment page explains how to launch your application form a shell script so that the libraries are found. You can wrap it in one of the common Linux deployment package or just ship a gzipped tar file that just needs to be extracted.

    Most 64-bit Linux installs are capable of running a 32-bit app, so I would try that first.

    -For Windows users,
    Problem2: I've tried to cross-compile the app for windows from my PC using wine and mingw32, following every tuto I could find on the web, but I never got it to work; there always seemed to be an error with the qmake.conf file or something. I've come to the conclusion that even though I don't have a PC with Windows on it, I should just find one (I guess I would need one anyway to test the app) and compile my source there.
    Q3: Suppose I manage to do that. Will my exe file work on all Windows computers?
    Yes, XP up. If you build a 32-bit app it will run on either 32- or 64-bit systems. You can develop in a virtual machine if that is easier.
    Q4: Should I try to create an installer (is it going to drive me crazy as well)?
    Yes, this would normally be expected by Windows users, but you can do a zip bundle that just needs to be unzipped. The layout of a Windows deployment is covered many, many times in this forum.

    -For Mac users,
    Q5: I guess it's gonna be pretty much the same as for Linux case? (the advantage is, I do have a Mac at home).
    You would normally build an App bundle. I cannot really help here, having never done it in anger.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deploying a Qt application

    Following above discussions....I tried shared library approach.
    I am working on windows XP, using Qt 4.8.5, wince SDK 5.0, Visual Studio 2008.
    I followed this link:
    http://doc.qt.digia.com/4.7/deployment-windows.html and
    configured my Qt with this command :
    configure -shared -platform win32-msvc2008 -xplatform wincewm50pocket-msvc2008
    Then ran command showed on prompt of Visual Studio 2008.
    Everything went without error.

    Then as described in above link, i tried to build 'plugandpaint' example. I built without errors but no file named 'pnp_basictools.dll' was created.
    Then I used dependency walker for 'plugpaint.exe'. It shows QTGUI4.DLL, QTCORE4.DLL and COREDLL.DLL are not found. I found QTGUI4.DLL and QTCORE.DLL but not the COREDLL.DLL on my computer. I googled for this file and came to know that it is one of the wince core files similar to user32.dll.
    I have wince5 sdk installed on my computer but no 'COREDLL.DLL'....how is this?
    How to solve this problem?
    What I am doing wrong?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    9
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows Android

    Default Re: Deploying a Qt application

    I downloaded an older version.
    worked fine.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deploying a Qt application

    Hey thanks for reply...
    U mean older version of visual studio???

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    9
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows Android

    Default Re: Deploying a Qt application

    I meant older version of Qt.
    I use 4.8
    why do you need that ?
    I used this.
    mingw32-make
    (this was after configuring)
    you need your environment variables set from the control panel.
    then use (this is what I have used)
    configure -platform win32-g++ -release -static -no-exceptions
    ||||||
    (it should show lots of 'doing stuff')
    then use
    mingw32-make

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Deploying a Qt application

    Well thanks for your advice.
    As I said I followed this link to install Qt for wince.

    http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-4.8/install-wince.html

    I found these links yesterday :
    http://www.formortals.com/build-qt-s...-gcc-compiler/
    http://www.formortals.com/how-to-statically-link-qt-4/

    So I guess I have to build Qt statically. Well I am confused now. Please tell me if I am doing something wrong?
    I would appreciate any advice that will point me in right direction.

Similar Threads

  1. Deploying an application on a different PC
    By adyb in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th July 2011, 14:53
  2. Deploying qt application under mac osx
    By lechoo in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th September 2010, 15:56
  3. Deploying Qt application on Mac OS X
    By mourad in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th March 2008, 16:19
  4. Deploying Qt 4.2 Application on Mac 10.3.5?
    By vishal.chauhan in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th May 2007, 11:33
  5. Deploying Qt Application on Mac?
    By vishal.chauhan in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th March 2007, 09:40

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.