Thread: QWT Installation QT Designer Plugin

Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Default QWT Installation QT Designer Plugin

Hi there,

firstable, I am quite new to qt programming (less than one year). But now I need to show a kind of diagram, and I'd like to use qwt for it.

Unfortunatly, I'm not able, to get this installation working - maybe someone can help me out here.

My standard QT Verison is 4.8.2., and it is working properly with Visual Studio 2010. I am using QT for Visual Studio 2010 with Plugin 1.1.11. So I guess QT is compiled correctly.

Now I try to install qwt. I downloaded a verion 6.0.0 from sourcforge.net, which already is configured in this way:

CONFIG += debug_and_release
    CONFIG += build_all
    QWT_CONFIG += QwtDll

If I leave this config so, doing:

qmake qwt.pro
    nmake

I will receive some errors regarding unresolved externals pointing to a dll-file, resulting in a fatal error after a while...

If I change the config to static build:

# QWT_CONFIG += QwtDll

everything works fine, everything is compiled and also the examples work (after an aditional "nmake install").

But I need to have the QWT widgets in the QT Designer available. But there is no such qwt_designer_plugin.dll file generated. just a qwt_designer_plugin.lib file.
    I tried to copy it to C:\Qt\4.8.2\plugins\designer. (just the .lib file)

But after starting the QT Designer, there are no qwt widgets available in the left side. Also deleting the registry-entries, some website point to, will not solve the problem.
    I can't see any qwt widget in the designer. The Designer also dosn't show it under failed plugins.

I red something about, that i need to compile qwt twice with the version, the designer is build with. So can anyone tell me, which exact version I need, to compile qwt with?
    I tried with 4.8.3, and the designer tells me based on 4.8.3, abut the results with compiling qwt is the same as stated above, when I compile qwt with 4.8.3.