Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Qwt ploting financial data

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Porto Alegre, Brazil
    Posts
    482
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Qwt ploting financial data

    Hello Uwe/others!

    I'm interested in a Qt/C++ library capable of drawing graphics, specifically with candlesticks.

    Doing some research some time ago I found that Qwt didn't provided such functionallity.

    The case, though, is that you mentioned in a post at 2009 that to put such functionallities was part of your plans "for the next version".

    My question is: was that done?

    In case the answer is no, than a totally different question: does somebody knows a Qt/C++ free lib that do such financial plotting nicely?


    Thanks,

    Momergil

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt ploting financial data

    Quote Originally Posted by Momergil View Post
    The case, though, is that you mentioned in a post at 2009 that to put such functionallities was part of your plans "for the next version". My question is: was that done?
    Sure - see QwtPlotTradingCurve. The stockcharts example shows how to use it.

    Qwt 6.1 is in a state, where I'm waiting for user feedback about all the new stuff. So use your chance to tell me what I might have forgotten before the final version is out and I have to take care of binary compatibilities.

    Uwe

  3. The following user says thank you to Uwe for this useful post:

    Momergil (12th January 2013)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Porto Alegre, Brazil
    Posts
    482
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt ploting financial data

    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Sure - see QwtPlotTradingCurve. The stockcharts example shows how to use it.

    Qwt 6.1 is in a state, where I'm waiting for user feedback about all the new stuff. So use your chance to tell me what I might have forgotten before the final version is out and I have to take care of binary compatibilities.

    Uwe
    Oh yeah!

    Now I found a problem: where is version 6.1 to be downloaded? in the sourceforge page [http://qwt.sourceforge.net/6.1/index.html] only 5.2, 6.0 and "development snapshot from the SVN repository" are mentioned, and when I enter in sourceforge donwload's page [http://sourceforge.net/projects/qwt/] the version to be downloaded is 4.2.0!

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt ploting financial data

    All information is available on the Qwt project page: http://qwt.sourceforge.net/

    Uwe

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Porto Alegre, Brazil
    Posts
    482
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt ploting financial data

    O.K., I managed to find it.

    Now I found a problem while building: [http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/5277...ingW?p=236357]


    Thanks,

    Momergil

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt ploting financial data

    A problem of rc1, you need rc2.

    Uwe

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Porto Alegre, Brazil
    Posts
    482
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt ploting financial data

    yeah, it worked fine now.

    My last problem (I hope so!): I included qwt in my pro file:

    QT += core gui network sql qwt

    CONFIG += qwt


    But I'm still incapable of accessing the classes. What is missing? I read in the install file about a QWT_DLL that I should include somewhere, but neither I understood where, nor I was able to find that DLL.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt ploting financial data

    Quote Originally Posted by Momergil View Post
    CONFIG += qwt
    That's enough, when you did a "make install" before.

    read in the install file about a QWT_DLL that I should include somewhere, ...
    QWT_DLL is mentioned in the section about what to do, when not working with qmake. Instead this is what you need to do:




    Uwe

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Porto Alegre, Brazil
    Posts
    482
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt ploting financial data

    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    That's enough, when you did a "make install" before.


    QWT_DLL is mentioned in the section about what to do, when not working with qmake. Instead this is what you need to do:




    Uwe
    yes - a mingw32-make install.

    well since I use qmake, I don't need QWT_DLL then.

    Now The first part I understood that that is what I did: CONFIGURE += qwt , and qmake understand it to be qwt.prf. (this is what I understood from the link you provided).

    Now what about that PATH? In fact, since I began working with Qt I hear about this PATH and dever actually found it :P where exactly is that thing and how to edit it?

    Edit: if by PATH you mean the environment variable we can change in Windows by going to System and System Advanced Proprieties and adding ";C:\Qwt-6.1.0-rc2\lib" to the end, OK, I did that step already, but how does that relates to Qt?
    Last edited by Momergil; 12th January 2013 at 18:00.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Porto Alegre, Brazil
    Posts
    482
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt ploting financial data

    OK, i think i managed to do some things...

    after more carefull search, I understood the PATH variable and edited it so to include ";C:\Qwt-6.0.1\lib" as indicated in this post: http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/4715...ht=qwt+install

    I have the CONFIG += qwt in my .pro file as well. Now what more is needed in order to be able to include that files?

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Porto Alegre, Brazil
    Posts
    482
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qwt ploting financial data

    Ok, I think everything is right now - despite the fact that I'm not sure this was the way I was supposed to do.

    In case, I create a no-extension file with includes of the .h from C:\... that I needed to my project and included it in mainwindow.h:

    Qt Code:
    1. /*
    2.   Copyright (c) 2013 - Martin Bittencourt
    3.  
    4.   This file includes all relevant qwt classes for mShare.
    5. */
    6.  
    7. #ifndef QWTMSHARE_H
    8. #define QWTMSHARE_H
    9.  
    10. #include "C:\Qwt-6.1.0-rc2\include\qwt.h"
    11. #include "C:\Qwt-6.1.0-rc2\include\qwt_plot.h"
    12. #include "C:\Qwt-6.1.0-rc2\include\qwt_plot_curve.h"
    13. #include "C:\Qwt-6.1.0-rc2\include\qwt_plot_grid.h"
    14. #include "C:\Qwt-6.1.0-rc2\include\qwt_plot_tradingcurve.h"
    15.  
    16. #endif // QWTMSHARE_H
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 


    So thanks Uwe for everything!

    Last question: where should I give the feedback? I already have some ideas!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th September 2011, 14:38
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16th May 2010, 21:20
  3. Corrupt JPEG data: premature end of data segment
    By node_ex in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th August 2008, 09:57

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.