Results 1 to 1 of 1

Thread: QtCreator 2.6: remote Linux debugging issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: QtCreator 2.6: remote Linux debugging issues

    Hi all.

    I'm encountering some issues when remote debugging a Qt application using QtCreator 2.6.1.

    My scenario:
    - Target: ARM embedded Linux with Qt4.7 and gdbserver
    - Host: x86 running QtCreator 2.6.1 and gdb

    My settings:
    On QtCreator, I have added compiler, Qt libraries, device and kit on Tools->Options->Build&Run:

    Device:
    Name: mytarget
    Type: Generic Linux
    Machine type: Physical Device
    Authentication Type: Password
    Host name: <target IP address>
    Free Ports: 1000-10100
    SSH port: 22
    Timeout: 5s
    Username: root
    Password: <my password>


    Kit:
    Name: myboard
    Device type: Generic Linux Device
    Device: mytarget
    Sysroot: (empty)
    Compiler: link to the compiler I have added
    Debugger: link to the cross gdb (i.e., arm-linux-gdb)
    Qt version: link to the new Qt I have added
    Qt mkspec: link to a specific mkspec that I have created starting from linux-g++


    With these settings, I have been able of successfully cross-compiling my application.

    When trying remote debugging, the only viable method seems to be "Attach to Running Application", since:
    - "Start and Debug external application" doesn't let select my kit (i.e., only "Desktop" is available)
    - "Attach to Remote Debug Server" doesn't let select my kit (i.e., only "Desktop" is available)
    - "Start Remote Debug Server Attached to Process" does nothing

    Therefore, I have started my remote application and used "Attach to Running Application" to start remote debugging.

    The result of "Attach to Running Application", however, changes based on kit's sysroot setting:
    - If I leave sysroot empty, then remote debugging complains with the error message "Cannot find ABI for remote process"
    - If I set sysroot equal to a copy of the remote filesystem, then remote debugging complains with the error message "Cannot find local executable for remote process"
    - Finally, if I set sysroot equal to the build directory of the project, remote debugging works

    I would really appreciate if someone can answer one or more of the following questions:

    1. What is the purpose of kit's sysroot field and what it should contain ?

    2. I assume that the kit should be a property independent by the specific project. So, why remote debugging works only if I set sysroot equal to the application build directory ?

    3. What is the right method for remote debugging of a Qt application in my scenario ? "Attach to Running Application ?

    4. Why "Start and Debug external application" and "Attach to Remote Debug Server" don't let me select my kit ?


    Many thanks for your help.


    Added after 1 21 minutes:


    FYI, I got the answer here: https://qt-project.org/forums/viewthread/24275/ I was missign the delpoyment settings, which seem to be mandatory to have a working debugging.
    Last edited by cybercloud; 28th January 2013 at 11:34.

Similar Threads

  1. Qt Creator remote debugging from & to Mac OSX ?
    By nils_heidorn in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th December 2012, 11:02
  2. Problem with remote debugging and issues in building for ARM target
    By badri89 in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th October 2012, 08:47
  3. Remote Debugging on Arm
    By weaver4 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th June 2012, 19:30
  4. Kdevelop remote debugging
    By hgedek in forum KDE Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th October 2007, 10:16
  5. Remote debugging+keyboard
    By hgedek in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th August 2007, 12:49

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.