Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Custom Progress Dialog while loading QTreeWidget

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Unhappy Custom Progress Dialog while loading QTreeWidget

    HI,

    I'd like some advice on best-practice ( if possible with a small code example ).
    This is what I am trying to achieve:

    In Mainwindow the user clicks the ActionTrigger (a button in the toolbar).
    The code in the on_action_triggered stub opens a dialog with .exec()
    In the constructor of the called dialog I call a function which takes a long time, thus it appears that nothing is happening (after clicking the button in the toolbar).

    I'd like to inform the user with a custom progress dialog about the loading progress of the dialog with the long taking function.

    I need to take into account that moving the function (that takes so long) - to a seperate thread is probably "not the way to do it" because it is generating objects (QTreeWidgetItems) on the main thread. The function generates them QTreeWidgetItems based on reading XML (via QDom), processing each toplevel element while comparing them to a QVector<QVector<Int> > which contains +2000 rows.

    I have looked into many solutions proposed on forums, books and Qt class references about using QThread, QProcess, QProgressDialog, QFutureWatcher... but I can't seem to get it right that is.

    Can anyone shed some brighter light on this topic please?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad, India
    Posts
    1,882
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 452 Times in 435 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    15

    Default Re: Custom Progress Dialog while loading QTreeWidget

    The solution you are looking for will be more or less based on the the answer for few questions.
    What do you want to inform the user (among the two options below)?
    1. Software is working in background (so don't have option other than to wait).
    2. Software is working in background and this is how far the software has made progress (the bar shows the progress %).

    When you know how to do it then you may do it wrong.
    When you don't know how to do it then it is not that you may do it wrong but you may not do it right.

  3. The following user says thank you to Santosh Reddy for this useful post:

    m3rlin (4th March 2013)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,230
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Custom Progress Dialog while loading QTreeWidget

    Can anyone shed some brighter light on this topic please?
    I'd suggest that the way to do this is not to build the tree in the dialog constructor. A common "trick" is to start a single-shot QTimer with 0 ms timeout at the very end of the constructor. Connect the timeout() signal of the timer to a slot in your dialog class. In this slot, build your tree. The net effect of this trick is that the timer's timeout signal won't be handled until after the dialog is displayed (with an empty tree, of course). While you are building your tree, you can use a progress dialog to keep the user informed.

    Qt Code:
    1. MyDialog::MyDialog( QWidget * parent )
    2. : QDialog( parent )
    3. {
    4. // setupUi(); etc.
    5.  
    6. QTimer::singleShot( 0, this, buildTree() );
    7. }
    8.  
    9. void MyDialog::buildTree()
    10. {
    11. int nItems = totalItemsToBeAdded;
    12. QProgressDialog progress( "Building tree", QString(), 0, nItems, this (;
    13. progress.setWindowModality(Qt::WindowModal);
    14.  
    15. for ( int nItem = 0; nItem < nItems; ++nItem )
    16. {
    17. progress.setValue( nItem );
    18. // add tree widget item
    19. }
    20.  
    21. // Maybe emit a signal here if needed, or just let the user start interacting with the tree
    22. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Alternatively, if you have real estate available in your dialog, you can simply put a QProgressBar in it and use that to show the load progress. After the tree is built, you can simply hide() the progress bar.

    Another slightly more complex scenario if you don't have the real estate is to use a stack widget in your dialog, one page containing the tree, the other containing the progress bar. When the dialog first comes up, the page containing the progress bar is shown; once the tree is filled, switch to the page containing the tree. This might actually cause filling the tree to be faster since it isn't visible and thus won't be constantly trying to update itself. It will simply update once, when you make it visible by switching pages.
    Last edited by d_stranz; 3rd March 2013 at 01:14.

  5. The following user says thank you to d_stranz for this useful post:

    m3rlin (4th March 2013)

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Custom Progress Dialog while loading QTreeWidget

    You will need to call QApplication:rocessEvents() after progress.setValue() (not necessarily every iteration but often enought) so the event loop can actually process the progress bar update events.

    As for the idea of parallelizing: you can probably run the dom parsing and traversal as well as the checking against your vector in a thread and let it create a list or tree of results that you then simply put into tree view items.

    But processing in smaller batches and returning to the event loop in between should already help a lot.

    Cheers,
    _

  7. The following user says thank you to anda_skoa for this useful post:

    m3rlin (4th March 2013)

  8. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Custom Progress Dialog while loading QTreeWidget

    Hi,
    I will implement this solution and get back to you. Thank you so much for pointing out how to do this the proper way. I was thinking way too complicated..


    Added after 7 minutes:


    Hi Santosh,

    Thank you for your quick reply. (I forgot to tag myself to receiving email updates, therefore I only now saw you post).
    Because the tree is loaded via a for loop I can report progress very precisely, I therefore prefer No. 2.
    Thank you for your help.
    Last edited by m3rlin; 3rd March 2013 at 19:26.

  9. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Custom Progress Dialog while loading QTreeWidget

    Hi d_stranz,

    I implemented your solution with some tweaks and it works fine now. Thanx again.


    Added after 6 minutes:


    Quote Originally Posted by anda_skoa View Post
    You will need to call QApplication:rocessEvents() ... _
    I didn't have to. progress.setvalue (as by the example of d_stanz) works fine.

    Quote Originally Posted by anda_skoa View Post
    As for the idea of parallelizing..._
    I mentioned in my reply that I needed to tweak some... and indeed the parsing I put into a seperate thread.

    Thanks for the advice.
    Last edited by m3rlin; 4th March 2013 at 05:13.

Similar Threads

  1. costumize progress dialog
    By bossy in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th May 2012, 16:59
  2. Resize dialog as progress bar
    By migel in forum Newbie
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th June 2011, 15:23
  3. Progress Bar Dialog using threads
    By dove17 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th April 2010, 16:46
  4. Indicate loading in QTreeWidget
    By danc81 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th February 2010, 16:44
  5. progress DIalog
    By mickey in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th July 2006, 14:30

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.