Thread: QGraphicsView, QGraphicsItem, QGraphicsScene

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

Question QGraphicsView, QGraphicsItem, QGraphicsScene

hi,
    can anyone make me clear with the difference b/w QGraphicsView, QGraphicsItem and QGraphicsScene . i studied fm the documentation but still i m not clear how to use them.
    i want to draw a line on a menu click or when i click at a point n drag n release. so where to write code for this? in QGraphicsView, QGraphicsItem or QGraphicsScene ?
    thanks in advance
    I worked on windows Xp with Qt 4.2.2(Open Source Version) and MinGw
    now i am trying the same things on Fedora Core 5 (linux-gcc) and Qt 4.2.2 open source edition.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Default Re: QGraphicsView, QGraphicsItem, QGraphicsScene

Quote Originally Posted by Shuchi Agrawal View Post
    hi,
    can anyone make me clear with the difference b/w QGraphicsView, QGraphicsItem and QGraphicsScene . i studied fm the documentation but still i m not clear how to use them.
    i want to draw a line on a menu click or when i click at a point n drag n release. so where to write code for this? in QGraphicsView, QGraphicsItem or QGraphicsScene ?
    thanks in advance
    GraphicsView framework is pretty well organised and documentation is also good. You only need to read, do the examples and tutorials.
    Anyway to put it in simple words QGraphicsScene is the offscreen container for QGraphicsItem's. QGraphicsItem are objects that represent the shapes or anything to be drawn and managed. QGraphicsView is the viewer widget which enables to "view" the scene.

For your second question
    Just create QGraphicsView and QGraphicsScene in your mainwindow constructor like this

Qt Code:
    1. MainWindow::MainWindow()
    2. {
    3. QGraphicsView *view = new QGraphicsView(this);
    4. // Here scene is supposed to be member variable since u need it later