Thread: How to make exe for windows using .pro project file in qt in linux machine ?

Exclamation How to make exe for windows using .pro project file in qt in linux machine ?

Hello,
    I am new to QT.
    I have developed QT GUI application on linux using QT 5.0 and i want to generate exe for windows using executable in QT 5.0.
    How to cross-compile.pro project file which is in linux in qt 5.0.2 for windows environment to work as a exe without any error ?

Is there MinGW compiler do we need to detect it in linux machine using qt 5.0 ?

Can you please guide me it is very urgent.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits

Default Re: How to make exe for windows using .pro project file in qt in linux machine ?

If it is urgent then you are far better off finding a Windows machine, installing the Qt SDK on Windows, and building from source code there.

The alternative is:
    • Build a MingW cross-compiler tool chain
    • Build any libraries, including Qt, your application needs using the cross compiler
    • Configure Qt, your IDE, and your project to use the cross compiler
    • Build your application using the cross compiler

MXE (M cross environment) may help you do some of this.

Then you still need a Windows machine to run and test it, which brings me back to my opening point.

Default Re: How to make exe for windows using .pro project file in qt in linux machine ?

Yes, so for that we need to either install QT SDK on windows machine and build source code from windows qt application.

Another alternative, as you have suggested, I tried to install Mingw64 bit on linux machine and when in qt 5.0 when I tried to add "Compilers" tab in "Build and run" option
    in "/usr/lib64/ccache/x86_64-w64-mingw32-g++" and added Mingw there.