Results 1 to 20 of 51

Thread: Nothing works !

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    29
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Unhappy Nothing works !

    Hello !

    I am using Qt 5.0.2 on ubuntu (12) and I wanted to use qwt on it but it definitely does not work. Do I have to uninstall everything and start again from scratch ?

    Qt is installed in /opt/Qt5.0.2 ; I have installed it manually.
    I have installed qwt 6.1.0 (which is in /usr/local/ as default) but I can't even use the library. When I try to, the files compiles but "The program has unexpectedly finished."
    So maybe I have a wrong installation of the library.

    As well, when I start QtCreator, I have this warning : " Warning: Kit file version 0 not supported, cannot restore kits!" which makes me wonder if I have changed something I shouldn't have while trying to add qwt...

    Can somebody help me please ?

    Camille.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Nothing works !

    Quote Originally Posted by Amoliane View Post
    When I try to, the files compiles but "The program has unexpectedly finished."
    So maybe I have a wrong installation of the library.
    No, you have bugs in your code.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    29
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Nothing works !

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota View Post
    No, you have bugs in your code.
    I have only with qwt... When I only do that :

    Qt Code:
    1. #include <QApplication>
    2. #include <qwt/qwt_compass.h>
    3.  
    4. int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    5. {
    6. QApplication a(argc, argv);
    7.  
    8. QwtCompass compass;
    9. compass.show();
    10.  
    11. return a.exec();
    12. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I have the same result. I have no problem with all my C++ ; it is only qwt which I cannot use. Can you understand why ?

    And I would really like to have this library include in the designer ; I don't why the plugin fails.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    29
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Nothing works !

    Is there really anybody who can help me ? I need qwt... :'(

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Nothing works !

    What does your .pro file look like?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    29
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Nothing works !

    Qt Code:
    1. QT += core gui
    2.  
    3. greaterThan(QT_MAJOR_VERSION, 4): QT += widgets
    4.  
    5. TARGET = test
    6. TEMPLATE = app
    7.  
    8.  
    9. SOURCES += main.cpp\
    10. mainwindow.cpp
    11.  
    12. HEADERS += mainwindow.h
    13.  
    14. FORMS += mainwindow.ui
    15.  
    16. #qwt
    17. CONFIG += qwt
    18.  
    19. unix|win32: LIBS += -L$$PWD/../../../../../usr/local/qwt-6.1.0/lib/ -lqwt
    20.  
    21. INCLUDEPATH += $$PWD/../../../../../usr/local/qwt-6.1.0/include
    22. DEPENDPATH += $$PWD/../../../../../usr/local/qwt-6.1.0/include
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    mainwindow is nothing, it is only because I have created with QtCreator quickly and it has generated this class which I don't use.
    Actually I want qwt for another project and this one is only to understand why it doesn't work.

    Do you see something wrong ? If not, do you think the library could be badly installed and justified the error ?
    Last edited by Amoliane; 11th June 2013 at 13:51.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Nothing works !

    The last four lines shouldn't be there. If you need them then apparently line #17 of your .pro file doesn't work which probably means you haven't read the readme file that comes with Qwt.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    29
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Nothing works !

    I have read many thing and still don't understand what I should do since there seems to be several ways to install qwt and I still don't know what should be manual and what should not be.

    I have the same result when I remove those lines.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Nothing works !

    Don't read many things you don't need. Read the one thing you do need. Each Qwt source bundle comes with installation instructions. Just follow them.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    29
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Nothing works !

    It was the first thing I read and then I had trouble ! Well, I start again.

    I confirm : I had read the README which told me to read the INSTALL which told me to read doc/html/qwtinstall.html which is the same thing as on the web which I have done... Trust me, this is the first time I ask a question ; usually I do everything by my own without problem. I may have made a mistake here ; that is pretty sure ! But I don't know what it is and I think there is something on that very page (qwtinstall.html) that I have not understood.

    If you have explanation in french, it may be easier but I don't think the language is the problem here.

    Thank you if you can help me.
    Last edited by Amoliane; 11th June 2013 at 14:52.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Nothing works !

    So what exactly did you do after you read qwtinstall.html?

    In particular did you follow the "Build and installation" section?

    Did you follow the "Building a Qwt application" section?

    Did you follow the "Running a Qwt application" section?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,312
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Nothing works !

    Let me confirm Witold comments: it is not about criticizing - it is simply, that it is almost impossible to give reasonable support for a messed up configuration we don't know.

    So try to revert everything you did so far with your Qwt installation and start from scratch doing it step by step. As soon as you have a problem don't try to help yourself without understanding what you are doing - ask here instead.

    The installation guide is far from being perfect and I'm afraid it doesn't meet the requirements for all levels of experiences. But when you feel unsure better ask before following any of these cookbooks you find in the web - many of them are wrong most of them for different versions of Qwt.

    Uwe

Similar Threads

  1. don't works on linux ?
    By 21did21 in forum Qwt
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th September 2011, 09:28
  2. Where can i learn how qml works?
    By tuxit in forum Qt Quick
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th August 2011, 19:01
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th July 2011, 06:59
  4. How works tile() ?
    By looki in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th September 2008, 13:25
  5. How simpletreeview example works?
    By igorko in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th June 2006, 09:59

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.