Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Fitting Desktop application layout for Symbian OS based smartphones.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    72
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded Qt Jambi
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Fitting Desktop application layout for Symbian OS based smartphones.

    Hello,
    I made desktop application using Qt framework and it's amazing as the features of the overall framework.
    The application ui looks ok in Windows ( I build under Windows ) but when I compile for Symbian or for Qt simulator for Symbian devices ( Nokia Qt SDK ) the ui does not fit to screen as on Windows, and I rather say appplication ui at all does not fit ( I can see only some region in my ui on the screen).
    I've looked through Qt Developers Library and video at Qt portal and I make as adviced:
    a) All the widget I show with widget->showMaximizied()
    b) I have no layout constraints at any ui ( no layout->setLayoutConstraints(..))
    c) I do not use any layout when I make ui because I do not understand how to use them and it could not be explained personally for me via www only if somebody personally sit with me and show all the use cases of qt layout system. All my widgets built without layouts and it looks pretty good on Windows
    What should I make so as to see my widgets fitted to screen as on Winodws on Symbian OS based devices?
    Thank you very much for your help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1,021
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 260 Times in 246 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: Fitting Desktop application layout for Symbian OS based smartphones.

    The layout "stuff" prevents many code re-writes if the screen size change, so i can say that this is one of the main reasons layouts were added to Qt.
    I really suggest you start reading about layout-management, see for example this page, you will see that is much easier than manually arrange widgets

    LE: Also Widgets tutorial contains some layout explanations and also you can use Designer

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Valencia (Spain)
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Symbian S60

    Default Re: Fitting Desktop application layout for Symbian OS based smartphones.

    Well, you DO need to use layouts :P

    The app could be displayed nice in windows, but if you resize the screen you'll mess up everything. With layouts everything will try to adapt to your new screen size.

    Just try this: open your main ui file with the designer and right click on your QMainWindow. Try to set different layouts... maybe you are lucky and you don't need something more.

    Anyway, layouts are not something difficult to learn/understand and they are more than needed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    72
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded Qt Jambi
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Fitting Desktop application layout for Symbian OS based smartphones.

    Ok
    Thank you very much.
    Yes, I've arranged widgets on mainwidnow without general layout. And it looks ok on windows7,xp.
    But I need to make good exact ( strict ) look on Symbian smartphones.
    A question is how to fit window ( widgets , layouts ) for Symbian? Is there any strict rules, regulations?
    When I compile I see my widgets very unfitted.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,368
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,017 Times in 4,793 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Fitting Desktop application layout for Symbian OS based smartphones.

    Quote Originally Posted by freely View Post
    A question is how to fit window ( widgets , layouts ) for Symbian? Is there any strict rules, regulations?
    Yes, use layouts.
    When I compile I see my widgets very unfitted.
    Because you are not using layouts.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    72
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded Qt Jambi
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Fitting Desktop application layout for Symbian OS based smartphones.

    Hello
    thanks to everybody interested and tryed to help:
    1) I've succedd to fit to mobile device without using layout, with layout it is more "professionaly" but at the moment I do not understand how to make layout specifically for my application interface that will fit "automatically" for changing platform ( I mean when compiling with different compilers and deploying to different devices)
    2) I still have some problem : There is a menu bar with items and actions at the top of my application's interface. I see them well in QtDesigner and they function ok and when compiling and executing on Windows it is ok, BUT! When I fit the window size for the symbian/maemo devices that there are at QtSDK simulators I see interfaces ok but I do not see the menu bar nor on the simulator's device's screen nor on the simulator's additional screen but only some part of my menu bar. Does anybody know what must be done for Qt MenuBar with items and actions displayed and functioned ok on QtSDK simulator and on real devices ( Maemo/Symbian ) ( like on Windows in my specific case ).
    Thanks a lot!
    23.03.2011

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Valencia (Spain)
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Symbian S60

    Default Re: Fitting Desktop application layout for Symbian OS based smartphones.

    Hello,

    As far as I know, QMenu is not displayed in the simulator, just test it in the device. But maybe I'm wrong. In the device the main QMenu is displayed when you press the bottom-right button.

    What I use to do:

    First, add a QMenu in the UI.
    Second:
    Qt Code:
    1. QMenu* m_pMenuCalc = menuBar()->addMenu(tr("Calculators"));
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th October 2010, 17:59
  2. QCA based application deployment problem
    By npclaudiu in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th May 2010, 10:10
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th April 2010, 07:36
  4. How to run cosol based application in Qt creator
    By phillip_Qt in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th March 2010, 13:38
  5. Deploying Qt 4.4 based Mac application
    By Ian_001 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st October 2008, 15:13

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.