Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: GDB debugger in QT Developer behaves unexpectedly

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    9
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default GDB debugger in QT Developer behaves unexpectedly

    Hello!

    I have some difficulties with understanding what I see in gdb output.
    Well, I thought I am experienced enough to understand - today is far from my first day in programming and debugging
    (I am a newbie only in QT, and have some experience in C++, but not much).
    But I see the variable values - and I don't understand WHY such values.

    I described my problems with GDB in another topic (because it all started from the other problem) - see post http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/5615...323#post252323
    There are detailed description and screenshots.

    Hope someone will give me a hint, why I see what I see. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    9
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: GDB debugger in QT Developer behaves unexpectedly

    Up!

    It is almost impossible to continue development when your debugger works odd.
    I hope very much to get a hint on the problem in the 1st post of the current topic.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    9
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: GDB debugger in QT Developer behaves unexpectedly

    Hello again!

    I have made a minimal example, describing my debugger strange behaviour.
    TreeViewExample.zip

    Here it is.
    There is some excessiveness, like:
    - TreeView is not enclosed into MainWindow directly, but into QDialogue (enclosed into MainWindow);
    - initial data in tree are monstrously hardcoded (see ExObject constructor);
    - order field calculation is left.

    How to do with this:

    - Open TreeViewExample.W.pro in QT Creator;
    - open ExFS.cpp, set breakpoing at line 34;
    - run application in debug mode: a window will be opened, 2 widgets are there:
    text field and tree view;
    - in tree view - click to "x20" branch (make it to be selected);
    - in text field print new branch name ("x25" for example)
    (it is supposed, that "x25" branch is inserted after selected "x20");
    - whatch the debuger output.

    Here is a couple of my screenshots again:
    qt1.jpg

    This first shows debuger stopped at 34 line, then moved to the next line.
    Here we can see index - it is ok (column 0, row 9 on the screenshot; in the example attached - it will be column 0, row 1).

    qt2.jpg

    The second screenshot shows state after 3 next steps:

    1) "(invalid)" sourceIndex (I expect it to be valid)
    2) index turned to (column 0, row 0) when entered into "else"

    My configuration is QT Creator 2.7.2 + QT 5.1.0 (32bit) + MinGW.

    Can anyone tell me, why my debugger works like this?
    Does your debugger behave likewise on this project?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th January 2013, 05:08
  2. Debugger: None of the debugger engines [...] capable of debugging binaries
    By schludy in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st February 2012, 18:32
  3. converting QString to FLOAT behaves unexpectedly
    By timmu in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th December 2011, 10:46
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th December 2010, 17:38
  5. KeyPressEvent behaves strange, skips the F key.
    By pir in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th August 2006, 17:07

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.