Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Cound not find or load qt platform plugin windows... No working solution yet !

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Cound not find or load qt platform plugin windows... No working solution yet !

    Hello everyone;

    First of all, I tried all the solution foudn in this forum and internet before posting.

    My dev platform: Win 7 Pro - 64bits / Qt5.1.1 / msvc2012
    My deployement platform: Win 7 Pro - 64bits / Touch screen

    When deploying on the production environment, and including all dlls and platform folder
    (QT5Core.dll,..., qwt.dll, msvcp110.dll, msvcr110.dll, icu*.dll, libEGL.dll, libGLEv2.dll in the same folder as the executable)
    (platforms/qwindows.dll, platforms/qminimal.dll)

    But when launching, I get the error
    This application failed to start because it could not find or lload the Qt platform plugin "windows"
    Reinstalling the application may fix this problem
    Some things to note:
    1. This message doesn't come in a message box, but straight in a terminal (meaning if double click the exe, a console editor opens and closes right away)
    2. The message doesn't have a line "There are no available platforms" (like in others similar issues on the Internet)
    3. I can launch a small Qt gui application without this error.
    4. I can launch a small Qwt gui application without this error.



    What I did is totally start over the Qt installation, 2 times:
    1. Once with compiling myself (configure -developer-build -opensource -opengl desktop -nomake examples -nomake tests)
    2. Once with the installer (this time without openGL)


    After compiling my project and qwt with the newly installed, I still couldn't manage to make my application work on the production computer (although it works perfectly on the dev computer)
    I looked at Dependency Walker, and I'm now installing a Virtual Machine to have a clean deployement environment;
    I also tried to copy the entire Qt5 root folder on the deployement environment and setting the %PATH% env variable to the Qt5 lib, plugins and bin folder.


    I really am out of ideas, and I thank you for having read this and trying to help me.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,229
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Cound not find or load qt platform plugin windows... No working solution yet !

    Another thing that isn't very well documented in Qt5.

    There are two solutions:

    1. Create a file named "qt.conf". Put this in the same directory as your executable. Put this in it:

    Qt Code:
    1. [Paths]
    2. Plugins=<path to where you want to install shared plugins>/plugins
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Then, create a directory called "plugins" in the shared plugins location, and a subdirectory "platforms" inside that. From your Qt distribution, find this same directory, and copy the file "qwindows.dll" from that directory into your own platforms directory.

    In this case, your installation looks like:

    Qt Code:
    1. /YourAppInstallFolder
    2. - YourApp.exe
    3. - any needed Qt DLLs
    4. - qt.conf
    5.  
    6. /YourSharedPluginsInstallFolder
    7. - /plugins
    8. - /platforms
    9. qwindows.dll
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    2. You can create the /plugins/platforms directory as a sub-directory of your application install directory, and put the dll there.

    In this case, your installation will look like this:

    Qt Code:
    1. /YourAppInstallFolder
    2. - YourApp.exe
    3. - any needed Qt DLLs
    4. - /plugins
    5. -/platforms
    6. - qwindows.dll
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Hope this helps.

  3. The following user says thank you to d_stranz for this useful post:

    K4ELO (3rd November 2013)

Similar Threads

  1. Failed to load platform plugin "windows"
    By Eos Pengwern in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th September 2013, 17:57
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th January 2013, 00:29
  3. installing QML canvas plugin in windows platform
    By Venu in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th February 2012, 15:46
  4. Ultimate solution for Qt cross-platform IPC
    By ManuMies in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd February 2009, 12:54
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd April 2006, 09:22

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.