Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Qt exe file porting

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Lightbulb Qt exe file porting

    Dear All,

    I'm working on Qt 4.6, I have developed some appications based on Client/Server architecture. I need run the client application in my LAN connected PC.I checked with debug folder I found one Exe.file of Qt application. So, there is any way to run Direct exe file in LAN PC with Qt Installed in that PC, without compiling code again in LAN PC.

    I tried to run the exe, but gave a error "The program can't start bcoz mingwm10.dll missing from your computer,try reinstalling program to fix this problem".

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt exe file porting

    Deploy the missing library alongside your application.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt exe file porting

    Thanks for the reply I have copied the missing mingw10.dll, which was found in C:\Qt\2010.01\mingw\bin. I copied the same in the Debug folder and recompiled code, then executed same error.. Migw10.dll missing.. Any path specification to be given?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt exe file porting

    You need to copy the libraries alongside your executable file. It is a runtime dependency, not a compile-time one.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt exe file porting

    Sorry for the not understanding,Please elaborate your idea bit more. I have PC Qt installed and exe in one of the folder on Desktop. Qt is installed in C:/....... What all the libraries to be placed in that folder of exe. I need to copy all the Library files? from where I need to check this... How to run that exe file... thru command line or ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt exe file porting

    Quote Originally Posted by Vivek1982 View Post
    I have PC Qt installed and exe in one of the folder on Desktop.
    Put all required libraries in the same folder.

    I need to copy all the Library files?
    Only those your application depends on. You can use Dependency Walker to assemble such a list. You should have read the page in the docs on deploying Qt applications but I guess you considered it a waste of time...
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt exe file porting

    No. I go thru the documents of trolltech on Qt deployment in Windows. Something like static linking shared linking. I will check with this docs and I will give a try to create a standalone exe file still If not I will post my procedures versions etc required info, to resolove this.. thanks for all your reply.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Qt exe file porting

    So I guess you read the Creating Application Package section (as well as the next sections) of the manual?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  9. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    Vivek1982 (8th October 2013)

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt exe file porting

    Thanks You Wysota... I was reading the documents as u suggested. I have installed Qt 4.6.1.. Initially I was running the xyz.exe. It was giving the missing libraries, atlast I got error of missing QCored4.dll, but it was not there in the any of the installed folder. Then I included the Qt Path of installation in Environment variables. Executable file was ready, To verify I had sent same folder/files to another machine. Added Qt path, then clicked on exe, It started working independently without code..

    Thanks alot

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    9
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows Android

    Default Re: Qt exe file porting

    you need to configure Qt to build statically.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1BsPQue5-k
    http://sector.ynet.sk/qt4-tutorial/preparations.html

    this will create an exe that can run on any computer.
    post your doubts

Similar Threads

  1. Porting from V++6 to QT
    By mahadasari in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th February 2011, 13:36
  2. Porting qt app from 32 bit to 64 bit
    By AmolShinde_8 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th October 2010, 07:03
  3. Porting 4.4.2 to 4.7.0
    By Lee B in forum Newbie
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 18th October 2010, 20:20
  4. porting Gtk to Qt?
    By mismael85 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd February 2010, 15:01
  5. Porting Qt 3 to 4
    By PeterUK in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th July 2009, 11:04

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.