Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 33 of 33

Thread: Devastating Deployment Issues

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    Ok I will try to bring all the intel together

    I have installed QT 5.1.0 in c:\5.1.0

    Here is a screnie of the Visual Studio components:
    msvs.jpg
    The Screenie of the QT5 dir:
    qt5dir.PNG
    The QT5Widgets.dll's:
    qt5widgets.jpg

    Thx for your help!

  2. The following user says thank you to xtlc for this useful post:


  3. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    Anyone else some ideas please?

  4. The following user says thank you to xtlc for this useful post:


  5. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    pretty please?!

  6. The following user says thank you to xtlc for this useful post:


  7. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    Dependency Walker now shows these three Files missing:

    API-MS-WIN-CORE-SHUTDOWN-L1-1-1.DLL
    EXT-MS-WIN-NTUSER-UICONTEXT-EXT-L1-1-0.DLL
    IESHIMS.DLL

    Shall I put them in the deployment dir or not?

    I still have no idea what to do with these red marked lines:
    depends23.jpg

  8. The following user says thank you to xtlc for this useful post:


  9. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    I will try to put together a blow-by-blow in the morning when I get a suitable Windows machine built up.

  10. The following 2 users say thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:

    xtlc (20th November 2013)

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    OK. I will go through an entire build step by step. I have use the command prompt so I can be precise about what is copied, from where, and it is copy-n-paste ready.

    I have the following:
    • A fresh Windows 7 machine
    • A fresh Windows SDK 7.1 install. This has the same compilers as VS2010, so you will have to substitute 2012 everywhere you see 2010.
    • A fresh install of Qt 5.1.1 using the online installer. This is a 32-bit ANGLE build in the default, C:\Qt, folder.

    I created a test folder and placed two test files in it.
    test.pro:
    Qt Code:
    1. TEMPLATE = app
    2. TARGET = test
    3. INCLUDEPATH += .
    4. QT += widgets
    5. # Input
    6. SOURCES += main.cpp
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    main.cpp:
    Qt Code:
    1. #include <QApplication>
    2. #include <QWidget>
    3.  
    4. int main(int argc, char **argv)
    5. {
    6. QApplication app(argc, argv);
    7. w.show();
    8. return app.exec();
    9. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    From the Start menu, All Programs, Qt, 5.1.1, "MSVC 2010" launch "Qt 5.1.1 for Desktop (MSVC 2010)"
    From the command prompt run:
    Qt Code:
    1. "C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v7.1\bin\SetEnv.cmd" /x86 /release
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    (This path may differ depending on how you got your C++ compiler. The batch file may be called vcvarsall and may live under a Visual Studio folder.)
    Then build and test the program which should launch a single empty window:
    Qt Code:
    1. qmake CONFIG+=release
    2. nmake
    3. release\test.exe
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Check that the release\test.exe program does not run if double-clicked from Windows Explorer.
    Now, back in the command prompt:
    Qt Code:
    1. mkdir deploy
    2. xcopy release\test.exe deploy
    3.  
    4. xcopy c:\Qt\5.1.1\msvc2010\bin\Qt5Core.dll deploy
    5. xcopy c:\Qt\5.1.1\msvc2010\bin\Qt5Gui.dll deploy
    6. xcopy c:\Qt\5.1.1\msvc2010\bin\Qt5Widgets.dll deploy
    7.  
    8. xcopy c:\Qt\5.1.1\msvc2010\bin\libEGL.dll deploy
    9. xcopy c:\Qt\5.1.1\msvc2010\bin\libGLESv2.dll deploy
    10. xcopy c:\Qt\5.1.1\msvc2010\bin\D3DCompiler_43.dll deploy
    11.  
    12. xcopy c:\Qt\5.1.1\msvc2010\bin\icudt51.dll deploy
    13. xcopy c:\Qt\5.1.1\msvc2010\bin\icuin51.dll deploy
    14. xcopy c:\Qt\5.1.1\msvc2010\bin\icuuc51.dll deploy
    15.  
    16. mkdir deploy\platforms
    17. xcopy c:\Qt\5.1.1\msvc2010\platforms\qwindows.dll deploy\platforms
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Check that the "deploy\test.exe" program does run if double-clicked from Windows Explorer on the developer machine.

    Back in the command prompt:
    Qt Code:
    1. xcopy c:"\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v7.1\Redist\VC\vcredist_x86.exe" deploy
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    This path may be different on your machine: just find the VC redistributable that matches your compiler in the Windows SDK or Visual Studio folders.

    Copy the "deploy" folder including subdirectory to another non-dev machine.
    Run the "deploy\vcredist_x86.exe" on the target machine to install the VC runtime. (This exe is not required again after this)
    Check that the "deploy\test.exe" program does run if double-clicked from Windows Explorer on the non-dev machine.
    Last edited by ChrisW67; 20th November 2013 at 22:41. Reason: Pressed submit prematurely

  12. The following user says thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:


  13. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    Thank you very much. I will try this tomorrow first thing in the morning, when the coffeine still does its job.

  14. The following user says thank you to xtlc for this useful post:


  15. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    My PC is a win8, I already have some troubles in an early stage

    Here is my *.pro file:
    Qt Code:
    1. #-------------------------------------------------
    2. #
    3. # Project created by QtCreator 2013-07-25T11:53:23
    4. #
    5. #-------------------------------------------------
    6.  
    7. QT += core gui\
    8. greaterThan(QT_MAJOR_VERSION, 4): QT += widgets printsupport
    9.  
    10. TARGET = GUI
    11. TEMPLATE = app
    12.  
    13. include(qextserialport-1.2rc\src\qextserialport.pri)
    14.  
    15. SOURCES += main.cpp\
    16. mainwindow.cpp \
    17. protokoll.cpp \
    18. multireturn.cpp \
    19. qcustomplot.cpp
    20.  
    21. HEADERS += mainwindow.h \
    22. protokoll.h \
    23. multireturn.h \
    24. qcustomplot.h
    25.  
    26. FORMS += mainwindow.ui
    27. DEFINES += QT_DISABLE_DEPRECATED_BEFORE=0
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Looks similar to yours ...

    But I dont have your path - instead I could offer:

    Qt Code:
    1. "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v8.0A\bin\"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    but in this directory, there is only a "NETFX 4.0 Tools" folder and no "SetEnv.cmd" in it - or on any other part on the HDD What shall I do now? I found a "SetEnv.c" tough.

  16. The following user says thank you to xtlc for this useful post:


  17. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    Microsoft, in their wisdom, removed the native compiler (cl.exe, link.exe and friends) from the Windows 8 SDK. They are part of Microsoft Visual Studio though.
    Building on the Command Line
    Setting the Path and Environment Variables for Command-Line Builds
    The environment setting scripts is "vcvars32.bat" according to the docs above.

    If it is all too difficult to build from the command line you can use Qt Creator or VS to build my test project in release mode and continue from the command prompt.

  18. The following user says thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:


  19. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    I did the "Setting the Path and Environment Variables for CMD Line Builds" - altough I tried the 64Bit version: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...(v=vs.110).apx - so I executed VCVARSALL with no argument (so my output should become a 32Bit exe, right?)


    Added after 17 minutes:


    If I now do the cmd thingy thing:

    Qt Code:
    1. c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0\VC>nmake "c:\Users\verena\De
    2. sktop\build-GUI-Desktop_Qt_5_1_0_MSVC2012_64bit-Release\Makefile"
    3.  
    4. Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility, Version 11.00.50727.1
    5. Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
    6.  
    7. ""c:\Users\verena\Desktop\build-GUI-Desktop_Qt_5_1_0_MSVC2012_
    8. 64bit-Release\Makefile"" ist aktuell
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    "aktuell" means "up to date".

    So if I then do the xcopy thing in my deployment folder and double click it -> nothing happens. I dont understand why this is such a big thing to do. I want to spend my time coding, not wondering what I do to bring my program to run. Thats something I would feel a SDK should take care of. I am obviously missing sth here... what is it?
    Last edited by xtlc; 26th November 2013 at 00:50.

  20. The following user says thank you to xtlc for this useful post:


  21. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    Running:
    Qt Code:
    1. "c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0\VC\vcvarsall"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    without arguments will set up to run a 32-bit compiler. It does not compile anything.

    The shadow build directory name "c:\Users\verena\Desktop\build-GUI-Desktop_Qt_5_1_0_MSVC2012_64bit-Release\Makefile" would indicate you have built using a 64-bit compiler and Qt library. Running nmake in an already built project directory will announce that that program is up-to-date: that is what a Make Utility does based on file timestamps.

    The two must match. A 32-bit VS2012 C++ compiler with 32-bit VS2012 Qt libraries, or 64-bit VS2012 compiler with 64-bit VS2012 Qt libraries. Mix-n-match is not going to cut it.

    Start with an EMPTY directory. Put my source files in it. Run through my process. Do you get a working result?

    Exactly what have you got?

  22. The following user says thank you to ChrisW67 for this useful post:


  23. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    I installed this: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/wind.../hh852363.aspx

    I made a new dir on desktop, copied your source in the two files.

    I used "Qt 5.1.0 64-bit for Desktop (MSVC 2012)" and did try to give x86_amd64 as an argument. It didnt want the "/release" argument. When I did qmake then
    -> worked. nmake
    -> not set up for 32Bit system

    So... how can I use this in 64Bit?

  24. The following user says thank you to xtlc for this useful post:


  25. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Devastating Deployment Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by The Page You Linked
    The Windows SDK no longer ships with a complete command-line build environment. You must install a compiler and build environment separately. If you require a complete development environment that includes compilers and a build environment, you can download Visual Studio Express, which includes the appropriate components of the Windows SDK.
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    Microsoft, in their wisdom, removed the native compiler (cl.exe, link.exe and friends) from the Windows 8 SDK. They are part of Microsoft Visual Studio though.
    Do you have Visual Studio 2012 installed?
    Do you have Qt 5.1.1 for MS VS2012 64-bit installed?

    It does not matter how you build my sample sources, just that we have a known simple example program from which to build a deployment kit. The point is to compile a 64-bit release version of my test program and get the resulting test.exe file. Clearly using a command line is proving too difficult for you.
    Use Qt Creator if that is what you have been using. Use Visual Studio if that is what you are comfortable with.

    The remainder of my instructions are about copying the compiled program (test.exe) to a folder along with the necessary support files. You can do this copying from a command prompt or by doing the same steps manually. You need to adjust the paths to suit your specific versions of Qt and Visual Studio.

    I know the steps as presented work.

Similar Threads

  1. !!!! problem deployment of a Mac
    By eric_vi in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st May 2010, 16:38
  2. A different deployment technique QT. Is it the right way of deployment?
    By Tarun in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th February 2010, 15:45
  3. deployment size issues, please help
    By udit in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th August 2009, 10:32
  4. Qt 4.3: Deployment on MAC
    By Angelo Moriconi in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd July 2007, 13:03
  5. deployment of a dll using qt
    By mandal in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th March 2007, 16:35

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.