Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Performance issues with detached QProcess

  1. #1

    Default Performance issues with detached QProcess

    Hi everyone,

    I’ve built an interface in Qt which interacts with a camera and a projector for synchronized image capture. I am using a button linked to a QProcess command on the interface to launch an external process which sends images to the projector to trigger image capture.

    The issue is that, when I launch the process from this interface, the OpenGL instance created by the external process suffers greatly in performance, resulting in botched image captures. Such a performance drop is not experienced when running the process by itself. The only thing that I think might affect the new process is the 2 OpenGL instances running in the interface, but the external process itself does not do much processing at all: it just draws a square, binds a PNG image onto the surface, and refreshes at 60 Hz for all PNG images.

    I was wondering if this is an issue with the way I have launched the program, or if its due to hardware limitations (the workstation does not have the highest specs. Thanks in advance! My launching code is included below:

    Qt Code:
    1. bool bStartSuccess;
    2. QString sProgram = CASIO_EXE_PATH;
    3. QString sProgramDir = CASIO_EXE_DIR;
    4. QStringList arguments;
    5. arguments << QString("%1").arg(pattern_list.count());
    6. QString sOldPath = QDir::currentPath();
    7. QDir::setCurrent( sProgramDir );
    8. QProcess *process = new QProcess(this);
    9. bStartSuccess = process->startDetached(sProgram, arguments);
    10. QDir::setCurrent(sOldPath);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Performance issues with detached QProcess

    Quote Originally Posted by simon71717 View Post
    Such a performance drop is not experienced when running the process by itself.
    Is your application running at the same time and doing something? Or just the other process?

    Quote Originally Posted by simon71717 View Post
    Qt Code:
    1. QProcess *process = new QProcess(this);
    2. bStartSuccess = process->startDetached(sProgram, arguments);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    No need for a new QProcess, startDetached() is a static method.

    Cheers,
    _

Similar Threads

  1. Performance issues QwtPlot
    By ghm in forum Qwt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st February 2012, 07:33
  2. QListWidget resize performance issues
    By Talei in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th July 2010, 05:59
  3. QtWebKit and flash performance issues
    By caelestis in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th February 2010, 05:08
  4. Performance Issues in Qt-4.4.3 / Qwt-5.1.1
    By swamyonline in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th January 2009, 17:50
  5. QAbstractProxyModel::mapToSource performance issues
    By maximAL in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th January 2008, 22:48

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.