Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Curve could not pass the points

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Curve could not pass the points

    Hi all,
    I want to draw a curve in the plot, the value of the first point is relatively small and the value of the last one is relatively large,
    I want to use QwtSplineCurveFitter to make the curve smoother, but the result shows that the curve could not pass the point,
    can you help me to solve this problem?

    this is my code:
    Qt Code:
    1. #include <qapplication.h>
    2. #include <qwt_plot.h>
    3. #include <qwt_plot_curve.h>
    4. #include <qwt_plot_grid.h>
    5. #include <qwt_curve_fitter.h>
    6. #include <qwt_symbol.h>
    7. #include <qwt_legend.h>
    8. #include <qwt_scale_engine.h>
    9.  
    10. int main( int argc, char **argv )
    11. {
    12. QApplication a( argc, argv );
    13.  
    14. QwtPlot plot;
    15. plot.setTitle( "Plot Demo" );
    16. plot.setCanvasBackground( Qt::white );
    17. plot.setAxisScale( QwtPlot::yLeft, 0, 100 );
    18. plot.setAxisScale( QwtPlot::xBottom, 50.0, 0.0 );
    19. plot.insertLegend( new QwtLegend() );
    20. QwtPlotGrid *grid = new QwtPlotGrid();
    21. grid->attach( &plot );
    22.  
    23. QwtPlotCurve *curve = new QwtPlotCurve();
    24. curve->setTitle( "Some Points" );
    25. curve->setPen( QPen( Qt::blue, 1 ) );
    26. curve->setRenderHint( QwtPlotItem::RenderAntialiased, true );
    27.  
    28. QwtSymbol *symbol = new QwtSymbol( QwtSymbol::Ellipse,
    29. QBrush( Qt::yellow ), QPen( Qt::red, 1 ), QSize( 2, 2 ) );
    30. curve->setSymbol( symbol );
    31.  
    32. curve->setCurveAttribute(QwtPlotCurve::Fitted);
    33. pCurveFitter->setFitMode(QwtSplineCurveFitter::ParametricSpline);
    34. curve->setCurveFitter(pCurveFitter);
    35.  
    36. QPolygonF points;
    37. points << QPointF( 0.0, 2.58258 ) << QPointF( 0.995469, 6.45643 )
    38. << QPointF( 4.11356, 12.9129 ) << QPointF( 12.565, 19.3693 )
    39. << QPointF( 25.1777, 25.8257 ) << QPointF( 45.1747, 51.6515 )
    40. << QPointF( 50.5358, 77.4772) << QPointF( 53.477, 103.303)
    41. <<QPointF( 54.8972, 129.129) << QPointF( 56.9157, 154.954)
    42. << QPointF( 60.1614, 206.606) << QPointF( 63.6644, 284.083)
    43. << QPointF( 66.3, 361.56) << QPointF( 68.3328, 439.038)
    44. << QPointF( 70.5758, 542.341) << QPointF( 74.1964, 800.598)
    45. <<QPointF( 76.675, 1058.86) << QPointF(78.6658, 1317.11)
    46. << QPointF(81.0151, 1833.63) << QPointF(83.0936, 2608.4)
    47. << QPointF(84.9255, 3899.69) << QPointF(86.8342, 6482.26)
    48. << QPointF(87.3439, 8290.06);
    49.  
    50. curve->setSamples( points );
    51.  
    52. curve->attach( &plot );
    53.  
    54. plot.resize( 600, 400 );
    55. plot.show();
    56.  
    57. return a.exec();
    58. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    and the result picture is here:
    simpleplot.png

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,311
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Curve could not pass the points

    Your x values seem to be increasing - so you don't need a ParametricSpline ?

    Uwe

    In SVN trunk you find a first implementation of a fitter using Bezier curves. You can try this one too and if you like it you can copy it to your code as the implementation is compatible with Qwt 6.1.

  3. The following user says thank you to Uwe for this useful post:

    momo (12th February 2014)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Curve could not pass the points

    Hi Uwe,
    Thank you for your reply.
    Now I deleted the following code:
    Qt Code:
    1. curve->setCurveAttribute(QwtPlotCurve::Fitted);
    2. // QwtSplineCurveFitter *pCurveFitter = new QwtSplineCurveFitter;
    3. // pCurveFitter->setFitMode(QwtSplineCurveFitter::Auto);
    4. // curve->setCurveFitter(pCurveFitter);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    The curve is still not pass the point.
    Is it Qwt's bug? Or is it my wrong way to use CurveAttribute and CurveFitter?

    Momo

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,311
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Curve could not pass the points

    Looks like a Qwt bug of splines in combination with an inverted x axis. I will have a look at it.


    Added after 19 minutes:


    The reason why it is broken for the inverted x axis is because of the QwtSplineCurveFitter::Auto mode, that decides a parametric spline interpolation when the x coordinates are not monotonic increasing. As the interpolation happens for the translated polygon ( paint device coordinates ) the points arr monotonic decreasing in your example.

    An easy workaround for you might be:

    Qt Code:
    1. pCurveFitter->setFitMode( QwtSplineCurveFitter::Spline );
    2. curve->setCurveFitter( pCurveFitter );
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Uwe
    Last edited by Uwe; 14th February 2014 at 10:56.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Curve could not pass the points

    Thank you very much, Uwe.

    Momo

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th September 2011, 21:50
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd February 2011, 07:29
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th October 2010, 13:29
  4. Deleting points from a curve dynamically
    By maneesh18187 in forum Qwt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th February 2010, 18:08
  5. Get the points of a fitted curve
    By giusepped in forum Qwt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th December 2008, 07:42

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.