Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: how to create setup file for qt desktop application on linux x86?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Hyderabad
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Smile how to create setup file for qt desktop application on linux x86?

    Hello team,

    Iam newbie to Qt, I developed a desktop application with Qt-4.7.4 in linux x86 platform.
    Now my application completed successfully and next is to create set up file for my application. In forum i found that there are two ways:
    1)To link Qt Statically
    2)To create shared libraries

    I am trying 1st appraoch,but it is little bit confusing for me.I copied the missing libraries to my application directory.

    Can anyone explain me the detailed description of how to complete it?.

    Please help me to save my valuable time....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: how to create setup file for qt desktop application on linux x86?

    If you want to link Qt statically, you need a commercial license.
    I think there is already a detailed description about deployment:
    http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-4.8/deployment.html
    http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-4.8/deployment-x11.html
    If you need further information, please ask more specific questions.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: how to create setup file for qt desktop application on linux x86?

    Quote Originally Posted by Infinity View Post
    If you want to link Qt statically, you need a commercial license.
    Since when?

    Cheers,
    _

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: how to create setup file for qt desktop application on linux x86?

    Take a look at libusb

    As I understand it no version of the Qt licence prohibits static linking but they do restrict distribution of the result. If you are distributing statically linked executables (without source) to third parties and you cannot provide a method for them to relink a Qt version of their choice into the application then you cannot use the LGPL licence for Qt. You can statically link under any licence if you are not distributing the binary.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: how to create setup file for qt desktop application on linux x86?

    Sorry, that statement was not correct. I think I read it somewhere, but after searching again I found the following:
    It is possible to build Qt statically as long as your application is open-source and you provide the source. If you want to keep your source closed, you either need an expensive commercial license, or you need to use dynamic linking.
    from: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...source-version

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: how to create setup file for qt desktop application on linux x86?

    Yes, but not fully correct.

    As ChrisW67 said, the matter is being able to relink the application. That is inherently possible when the distribution happens in source or sources plus build system are available, but it is not a requirement.

    A static library is basically just an archive of object files and the linker resolved the symbols needed by the application object files against those library object files.

    No where, not even in the normal build, does the linker require the source files of the application.

    Anyway, really offtopic here, doesn't help sinduh in any way.

    Cheers,
    _

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th April 2012, 00:53
  2. How to create a "setup" wizard for my Qt Application ?
    By AbuYusuf in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th February 2010, 13:59
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th January 2010, 23:16
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd February 2009, 11:04
  5. How to create package for a Qt4 application in linux..?
    By archanasubodh in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 6th March 2008, 13:20

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.