Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Converting MFC application to QT

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question Converting MFC application to QT

    Hi Guys,

    I am fairly new to Qt. I am working in a company which has there applications GUI built in MFC. They want to migrate to Qt. I have been following http://doc.qt.digia.com/solutions/4/...lkthrough.html article but I am not able to get anywhere. Can someone please let me know how to start? What steps should I take? The application is already built and is running using MFC. I need to convert it to Qt. Any help would be appreciated.
    Last edited by abcd1234; 27th June 2014 at 01:39.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Converting MFC application to QT

    You can proceed with one of two approaches:

    - separate any business logic from UI and make it buildable separately. then build a new UI with Qt

    - use #ifdef to disable all code that does not build without MFC, then port each section to its Qt equivalent

    Or a combination of both.

    Cheers,
    _

  3. The following user says thank you to anda_skoa for this useful post:

    abcd1234 (27th June 2014)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Converting MFC application to QT

    Hi Anda_skoa,

    Thanks for the reply. On a curious note: what is qtwinmigrate? I was reading about it and seems like it is only available with Enterprise edition of Qt.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Converting MFC application to QT

    It looks like a public repository to me https://qt.gitorious.org/qt-solution...3:qtwinmigrate

    Never heard about or used that tool though, no idea how good it is.

    Cheers,
    _

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th January 2011, 13:32
  2. Converting UIC 2 .h & .Cpp
    By jibolso in forum Newbie
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th September 2009, 13:28
  3. Converting C++ to Qt4
    By ComaWhite in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11th July 2008, 08:33
  4. Converting QT 4 to VC++
    By vvbkumar in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd June 2006, 13:54
  5. Converting my UI to Qt4
    By Honestmath in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th April 2006, 23:58

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Qt is a trademark of The Qt Company.