Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Remote host closed error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    9
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Remote host closed error

    Hi im working on a networking windows/linux app and im ive got a weird problem that is driving me crazy.
    I connect 2 QTcpSockets and make'em talk. then iddle and the control of the net comes to the user (is a chat like app),the thing is... suddenly one of this sockets tells me to read an "Remote host closed" error and gets disconnected while, the other side continue working without a problem. I can cal socket.write all the times i want, no errors.. but the data, obviously, never reach destination.
    any idea what can cause this behaviour?

    edit: some more data
    Ivegot 2 roles, client (the caller) and server(who is called) but theyre bassically the same class.

    If i call from linux to windows... whats described before is exactly what happens.
    If i call from windows to linux, BOTH sockets detect remote host closed

    edit 2--------------------
    well desperated after 2 days fighting this irregular error, i tried it with local ips. It seems to work perfectly. weve got 100Mb bandwith here and no connection problems ever... would it be normal for a simple chat app to suffer random disconnection over QTcpSocket, on a seconds matter, as described? should i just implement a reconnecting system even if its called every N seconds?
    Last edited by xeyos; 19th August 2014 at 02:16.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Remote host closed error

    Random disconnects on idle connections smells a lot like a firewall dropping inactive connections.

    Cheers,
    _

Similar Threads

  1. Qt application for remote Debugging on host pc for Beagleboard-xM
    By nilking in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd September 2013, 14:06
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th September 2012, 07:08
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th August 2012, 18:49
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd August 2012, 09:50
  5. How to determine ip address of remote host?
    By nopalot in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th April 2006, 22:18

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.