Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: dot gets converted into square with arabic language on Android 5 plateform

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Android

    Question dot gets converted into square with arabic language on Android 5 plateform

    When I'm typing arabic string with "." in continuity, then this "." gets converted into a square automatically. But If I'm Using any other character(any English alphabet, any numeric, space etc) in between arabic string and ".", then "." will come perfectly.

    Example:
    -If I'm typing ".الجديد", then It will show "[]الجديد". I don't want this square at the place of "." I want ".الجديد" string in output.
    Note: please treat [] as a square.

    -If I'm trying like ".Aالجديد" or ".1الجديد" or ". الجديد", then I'm getting output similar to input string means ".Aالجديد" or ".1الجديد" or ". الجديد" without and square("[]") box.

    So My question is, Is this is the problem in QT with arabic language or problem with arabic language itself.

    Could anyone can help me. Thanks in advance.

    Thanks,
    Rohit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: dot gets converted into square with arabic language on Android 5 plateform

    The "square" is probably a placeholder for bytes in the string that are either invalid sequences or have no glyph in the current font.

    Your editor or compiler could be mangling UTF8 input. Try this and see what you get:
    Qt Code:
    1. #include <QtCore>
    2.  
    3. int main(int argc, char **argv)
    4. {
    5. QCoreApplication app(argc, argv);
    6.  
    7. QString test = QString::fromUtf8("\x2E\xD8\xA7\xD9\x84\xD8\xAC\xD8\xAF\xD9\x8A\xD8\xAF");
    8. qDebug() << test;
    9. return 0;
    10. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th June 2014, 15:01
  2. Title Bar Direction Not as per Arabic Language Layout.
    By pavanbarot in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th September 2011, 19:09
  3. How use unicode in Arabic language?
    By mismael85 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th November 2010, 13:08
  4. Arabic language support problem (right to left)
    By sam_er83 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th September 2009, 07:00

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.