Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platform pl

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platfor

    Hello!

    This is my release folder:
    309.png308.png

    But I receive this message:
    310.png

    I took the "libEGL.dll" from here: C:\Qt\Qt5.3.1\Tools\QtCreator\bin

    Thank you!
    Last edited by 8Observer8; 1st September 2014 at 09:47.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platfor

    Your application is looking for the windows plugin not egl plugin. And you should put there plugins from your Qt installation and not your Creator installation, they might be different.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    8Observer8 (1st September 2014)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platfor

    Thank you for reply! What plugin?


    Added after 10 minutes:


    How did you see I added the "platforms" folder and "qwindows.dll" from here: C:\Qt\Qt5.3.1\5.3\mingw482_32\plugins\platforms
    Last edited by 8Observer8; 1st September 2014 at 10:11.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platfor

    Does it work now?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  6. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    8Observer8 (1st September 2014)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platfor

    No. Can you see this problem on the picture?
    311.jpg


    Added after 11 minutes:


    I opened my exe via depends22_x86. He tells me that GPSVC.dll was not found. I will find it on my computer
    312.jpg
    Last edited by 8Observer8; 1st September 2014 at 10:39.

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platfor

    You have mixed MinGW and MSVC binaries. Are you sure you have copied the right set of libraries?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  9. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    8Observer8 (1st September 2014)

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platfor

    What binaries do you mean? I have only MinGW version of Qt. Can you tell me what I must do?


    Added after 5 minutes:


    Quote Originally Posted by d_stranz View Post
    Another thing that isn't very well documented in Qt5.

    There are two solutions:

    1. Create a file named "qt.conf". Put this in the same directory as your executable. Put this in it:

    Qt Code:
    1. [Paths]
    2. Plugins=<path to where you want to install shared plugins>/plugins
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Then, create a directory called "plugins" in the shared plugins location, and a subdirectory "platforms" inside that. From your Qt distribution, find this same directory, and copy the file "qwindows.dll" from that directory into your own platforms directory.

    In this case, your installation looks like:

    Qt Code:
    1. /YourAppInstallFolder
    2. - YourApp.exe
    3. - any needed Qt DLLs
    4. - qt.conf
    5.  
    6. /YourSharedPluginsInstallFolder
    7. - /plugins
    8. - /platforms
    9. qwindows.dll
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    2. You can create the /plugins/platforms directory as a sub-directory of your application install directory, and put the dll there.

    In this case, your installation will look like this:

    Qt Code:
    1. /YourAppInstallFolder
    2. - YourApp.exe
    3. - any needed Qt DLLs
    4. - /plugins
    5. -/platforms
    6. - qwindows.dll
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Hope this helps.

    I use second... But I receive too message.

    I created "plugins\platforms" with "qwindows.dll"
    Last edited by 8Observer8; 1st September 2014 at 11:49.

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platfor

    Quote Originally Posted by 8Observer8 View Post
    What binaries do you mean? I have only MinGW version of Qt.
    You have at least two versions of Qt -- one for your programs and one for Qt Creator. If nothing has changed recently, QtCreator's binary release is built with MSVC while Qt for your programs is built with MinGW.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  12. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    8Observer8 (1st September 2014)

  13. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platfor

    Please, tell at least one dll from my directory that built in MSVC?

  14. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platfor

    Quote Originally Posted by 8Observer8 View Post
    Please, tell at least one dll from my directory that built in MSVC?
    Just look at your own screenshot where it says "MSVCRT.DLL" which stands for "MSVC RunTime". I don't know what in your app links to that but it is obvious that something does.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  15. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platfor

    If you are sure that the "qwindows.dll" is in the right place, but it still can't be loaded on application start, then you should check it's dependencies with depends.exe, not dependencies of your exe. The nature of plugins is that they are loaded in runtime, so their dependencies are also resolved in runtime, so you will not see them by analising your exe.
    I would like to be a "Guru"

    Useful hints (try them before asking):
    1. Use Qt Assistant
    2. Search the forum

    If you haven't found solution yet then create new topic with smart question.

  16. The following user says thank you to faldzip for this useful post:

    8Observer8 (1st September 2014)

  17. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platfor

    Why the application require icuin51.dll but here c:\Qt\Qt5.3.1\5.3\mingw482_32\bin\ there is only icuin52.dll


    Added after 1 18 minutes:


    I deleted old Qt SDK and restart the computer. I deleted all .dll from release and I added them again. And I created "platforms" folder with "qwindows.dll". This is run on another computer


    Added after 35 minutes:


    - platforms/qwindows.dll (from here c:\Qt\Qt5.3.1\5.3\mingw482_32\plugins\platforms\)
    - icudt52.dll (dll's are from here: c:\Qt\Qt5.3.1\5.3\mingw482_32\bin\)
    - icuin52.dll
    - icuuc52.dll
    - libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll
    - libstdc++-6.dll
    - libwinpthread-1.dll
    - Qt5Core.dll
    - Qt5Gui.dll
    - Qt5SerialPort.dll
    - Qt5Widgets.dll
    Last edited by 8Observer8; 1st September 2014 at 15:06.

Similar Threads

  1. Cound not find or load qt platform plugin windows... No working solution yet !
    By bouchebeu in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th October 2013, 00:52
  2. Failed to load platform plugin "windows"
    By Eos Pengwern in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th September 2013, 16:57
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th January 2013, 23:29
  4. QProcess::start() failed when application runs from sudo
    By alenyashka in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd June 2010, 06:35
  5. Deploying debug Qt application - failed to load ODBC driver
    By sureshbabu in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st November 2007, 12:35

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.