Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: MainWindow Menu bug in Qt 4.2.3?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    25
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Question MainWindow Menu bug in Qt 4.2.3?

    I switched to Qt 4.2.3 from Qt 4.2.2 yesterday and my Qt Designer build QMainWindow application now has a severe bug with the menu. I attached two screenshots showing the problem with both languages my app supports:
    There is a small line above the menu. Below this line the menu items are not clickable. As a workaround to access File / Edit you have to click a menu item that is on the right from that line and then move the mouse left so that the menu switches to the leftnext menu.

    Previewing the MainWindow in Qt Designer does not show this line and behaviour. Another app and QDevelop that I both build with Qt 4.2.3 do not show this either.

    Any ideas what could cause this issue?

    Thanks in advance,
    -Jens
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: MainWindow Menu bug in Qt 4.2.3?

    I have the same Problem, but I looks different at me.
    When I start the designer than no menu bar is shown. And all fonts are miss sized. Some are extreme big and other are extreme small. This only happened, when you build Qt4 on Windows with the Platform SDK 6(alias vista SDK) when using the old version 5 all is ok.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by BartSimpson; 10th March 2007 at 22:09.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: MainWindow Menu bug in Qt 4.2.3?

    My Linux 4.2.3 build doesn't experience any of the behaviours you describe, although my application has a single drop down menu. I doubt that is the problem though... Can you prepare a minimal compilable example reproducing the problem?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    554
    Thanked 86 Times in 81 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: MainWindow Menu bug in Qt 4.2.3?

    Imho no need for a testcase - it really only happens with the vista sdk...
    See also http://www.trolltech.com/developer/t...ntry&id=150711

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    25
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Smile Re: MainWindow Menu bug in Qt 4.2.3?

    Quote Originally Posted by No-Nonsense View Post
    There is a small line above the menu. Below this line the menu items are not clickable. As a workaround to access File / Edit you have to click a menu item that is on the right from that line and then move the mouse left so that the menu switches to the leftnext menu.
    I could solve my problem by removing step by step parts of my MainWindow's constructor. The small bar and the resulting problems were created by my ::readSettings() method that restores the forms settings.

    It must been either created by restoreGeometry(...) or restoreState(...) that restored the MainForm's state saved with the old Qt 4.2.2.
    After deleting the MainForm's settings from the registry the problem solved.

    To prevent this bug in further versions of my app I am thinking of storing the Qt build-time and run-time versions in my apps settings and to delete all Form related stuff when the versions changed (QT_VERSION_STR // Qt version (build) and qVersion() // Qt version (runtime)).

    -Jens

Similar Threads

  1. Context Menu on QTableWidget
    By ankurjain in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17th December 2009, 09:52
  2. "About app" not getting translated on Mac app menu
    By sharevari in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th January 2007, 16:24
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd July 2006, 18:02
  4. Qt/MacOSX preferences menu item
    By mcenatie in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th March 2006, 04:24
  5. Tracking separators in a menu (insertSeparator)
    By PrimeCP in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th January 2006, 18:10

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.