Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Is there any way to use the GPU to for intensive calculations in QT applications?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt5

    Default Is there any way to use the GPU to for intensive calculations in QT applications?

    I am using a linux based operating system with a version of Qt Creator 5. I have a program that I have optimized for the most part, but in many cases for doing various calculations, it may have to run for up an hour for relatively straight forward, but tedious data processing. My CPU is an I7, and I believe I could get much faster results if I were able to use my GPU to perform the calculations.

    Is there any way I can make my GPU be responsible for the calculations, without significantly altering my code in any major way? My program consists of nearly hundreds of functions and different classes and many of the calculations are simply too involved for the CPU to handle in any reasonable amount of time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: Is there any way to use the GPU to for intensive calculations in QT applications?

    You can use something like NVidia's CUDA libraries but you will have to modify your C++ code. There are no standard Qt-supplied wrappers around such functionality.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 5th December 2013, 09:48
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th July 2011, 15:10
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th January 2011, 11:41
  4. CPU intensive QPainter
    By jcarneiro in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th October 2010, 15:08
  5. complex calculations with qt
    By gt.beta2 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th February 2009, 23:55

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.