Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: conversion from qt,c++ to c++

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Question conversion from qt,c++ to c++

    hi..
    i have one source code in c++ and qt...bt it doesnt run on 64 bit system...so i have to convert it totally in to c++...so plz help me for that...what are the steps requred for conversion..and from where i would start..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: conversion from qt,c++ to c++

    First of all - Qt is a library written in C++, so your project is already written in C++.
    Second of all - why does it not run on 64bit system? If this system is lacking Qt libraries then download appropriate Qt version for this system or compile it for your own if there is no precompiled version that suits your need. Qt works on 32bit and 64bit systems. If you have Qt on your 64bit system and your application does not work then you have some errors in you sorce code.
    As you did not provide any detailed information it is hard to help you.
    I would like to be a "Guru"

    Useful hints (try them before asking):
    1. Use Qt Assistant
    2. Search the forum

    If you haven't found solution yet then create new topic with smart question.

  3. The following user says thank you to faldzip for this useful post:

    shyamkute (4th November 2014)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: conversion from qt,c++ to c++

    tahnk you sir for your reply...i will go through your instructions


    Added after 6 minutes:


    That qt and c++ source code is built on 32 bit system...so it is unable to run on it by using qt-5.1.1 version. So i have to convert it totally in to c++...and my aim after that iis to parallise that code using cuda or mpi...so it would become faster to execute...so guide me about where i would start conversion and what will i do first...give me some steps for that
    Last edited by shyamkute; 4th November 2014 at 18:42.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: conversion from qt,c++ to c++

    1. 32bit programs are likely to work on 64bit systems
    2. What's the problem to download suitable Qt version for your systen and rebuild the application for 64bit?
    3. I don't know what you use from Qt but if you would like to rewrite qtcore, qtgui and qtwidgets module then... good luck, see you in 10 years from now. But you can just download Qt source code because it is a C++ code and compile it. See - you save 10 years of coding
    I would like to be a "Guru"

    Useful hints (try them before asking):
    1. Use Qt Assistant
    2. Search the forum

    If you haven't found solution yet then create new topic with smart question.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: conversion from qt,c++ to c++

    Quote Originally Posted by faldzip View Post
    But you can just download Qt source code because it is a C++ code and compile it. See - you save 10 years of coding
    Hmm... I should say that to my managers at work
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: conversion from qt,c++ to c++

    Quote Originally Posted by shyamkute View Post
    That qt and c++ source code is built on 32 bit system...so it is unable to run on it by using qt-5.1.1 version.
    If the application is using Qt4 you need to port. If the application is using a newer Qt5 then you obviously need a newer version to run it.

    Quote Originally Posted by shyamkute View Post
    So i have to convert it totally in to c++
    You are already done with that part, a Qt application is a C++ application.

    Cheers,
    _

Similar Threads

  1. How to do QTextCodec conversion?
    By lni in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th October 2013, 15:55
  2. Hex Conversion
    By umulingu in forum Newbie
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th March 2010, 19:07
  3. difficulty in conversion
    By mohanakrishnan in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th December 2009, 11:31
  4. wchar to T50 conversion
    By rajveer in forum General Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th August 2008, 14:32
  5. Reg - Conversion of Qt3 to Qt4
    By suresh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 29th August 2006, 00:10

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.