Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: How to set UserRole within setData for QStandardItem?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Platforms
    Windows

    Arrow How to set UserRole within setData for QStandardItem?

    I am building a tree using QStandardItemModel and populating it with QStandardItems. I am wrapping some data about each item into an object that I then aim to set as the data with role = UserRole. I am presently doing the following:
    Qt Code:
    1. QStandardItem.setData(object, role = QtCore.Qt.UserRole)
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    My question is about the documentation for setData(). It says to call setData() with:
    Qt Code:
    1. QStandardItem.setData(value, role=Qt.UserRole + 1])
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    I am confused by the "+1".

    Since Qt.UserRole = 32, does the +1 mean I should set role to 33? This seems very strange, unless I have multiple different UserRoles to employ, in which case I thought I could start with 32, and go from there. But I don't, I just have one such userRole (for now). Can I use Qt.UserRole, or do I need to start with Qt.UserRole+1?

    So far I am just using Qt.UserRole, and it seems to be working ok, but I worry there is some corner case I will hit where the thing will blow up.
    Last edited by neuronet; 13th February 2015 at 01:40.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to set UserRole within setData for QStandardItem?

    You can use any number between Qt::UserRole and Qt::MaxUserRole.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    neuronet (13th February 2015)

Similar Threads

  1. QFileSystemModel + UserRole
    By NIteLordz in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th January 2015, 17:39
  2. Using Qt::UserRole in the Model/View architecture
    By d_stranz in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd January 2011, 16:13
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th October 2010, 16:11
  4. Model/View one index.column as hidden UserRole
    By doitux in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th July 2008, 12:08
  5. setting UserRole data in QSqlTableModel
    By orgads in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd June 2008, 09:40

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.