Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Does Qt4 have a QSocket class?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Smile Does Qt4 have a QSocket class?

    Hi, I'm a newbie here, i was planning to create a simple Email client without using QDesktopServices.
    I did some little research about QSocket class but it seems Qt4 doesn't have Qsocket class or QTcpSocket and QAbstractSocket.

    Thank you, Sorry for my english.
    Last edited by shino14; 1st April 2015 at 03:30.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    791
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 153 Times in 150 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Does Qt4 have a QSocket class?

    http://doc.qt.io/qt-4.8/qtcpsocket.html

    Edit: If you are just starting out with Qt, why not start with Qt5?
    Last edited by jefftee; 1st April 2015 at 04:09.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Does Qt4 have a QSocket class?

    http://doc.qt.io/qt-4.8/qtcpsocket.html

    Edit: If you are just starting out with Qt, why not start with Qt5?
    I'm currently using Qt 4.7.3, does it mean that it does not have any socket class?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    791
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 153 Times in 150 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Does Qt4 have a QSocket class?

    I don't know, but I assume you have googled to find old Qt 4.7.3 documentation? Why do you have to use such an old version?

    Edit: http://qt-project.org/doc/qt-4.7/qtcpsocket.html
    Last edited by jefftee; 1st April 2015 at 04:34.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Does Qt4 have a QSocket class?

    Well, I'm just trying to use something old and different. Is there have any other class rather than QSocket?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    791
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 153 Times in 150 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Does Qt4 have a QSocket class?

    The class is QTcpSocket and my prior post was edited to contain the link to the Qt 4.7.3 documentation, but I highly suggest you start with Qt5 instead of Qt 4.7.3.

    You will find that you will get better help with more recent versions of Qt, so if you don't actually have a requirement to use Qt 4.7.3, take the time to upgrade to Qt5 before you start coding.

    Also, you will find people are more likely to help if you've clearly read the documentation and have usage questions where you can show code that you have tried instead of asking questions that are covered in the documentation.

    Good luck.

  7. The following user says thank you to jefftee for this useful post:

    shino14 (1st April 2015)

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Does Qt4 have a QSocket class?

    Qt4 does have both QTcpSocket and QAbstractSocket since 4.0.0. There is no QSocket class in Qt4. I think there was one in Qt3 but that was ages ago.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


Similar Threads

  1. Qsocket readyread() problem...
    By vani.pv in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th August 2012, 13:39
  2. QImageWriter QImageReader and QSocket
    By jordip in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th March 2010, 18:29
  3. transfer large files using qsocket
    By vishesh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd March 2007, 15:40
  4. QSocket: connecting but not connected
    By olberg in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th May 2006, 10:26
  5. QPop3 and QSocket (example from wysota)
    By raphaelf in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20th January 2006, 15:22

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.